Peanut Butter Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Excellent cake! It is very rich though, so eat in small portions. I found it was easiest to microwave the peanut butter for 30 seconds and then pour in on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This cake caused arguments in my house. "What do you mean you ate the last piece!?" arguments. It was absolutely dense, rich, and delicious. I did make a few changes. I didn't spread the peanut butter layer alone; I was mixing the icing when we got a call and had to leave the house quickly, when we returned, the icing had hardened in the mixer, so I added the peanut butter directly to it and some light cream to bring it to the right consistency and voila! I will definitely make this cake many, many times, especially when I eat the last piece! Try this, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Josey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Very rich and yummy cake! I love peanut butter and chocolate. I've never made a cake where you first cook the butter, cocoa and eggs together on the stove so that was interesting. When I was cooking the frosting mixture, at the last minute the butter separated out and looked gross and greasy, but mixed fine with the powdered sugar. The chocolate frosting is my favorite part! I used Adam's natural peanut butter, which seemed to go well because the rest of the cake is so sweet. I used a whole 16 oz. jar! I also used a 16 oz. bag of powdered sugar for the frosting. A good use of my buttermilk that was really needing to be used! Try this recipe, it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is the best cake ever! I have made a recipe identical to this for years! If you add like 1/4 cup of peanut oil to the peanut butter it makes it easier to spread. This is a moist, dense cake that freezes well. You will not be disappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This is a very good chocolate cake. It is more like a sheet cake, and very moist. It is so good with the peanut butter. I added milk chocolate and peanut butter chips to the batter and it was great. I took this to a group get together and everyone loved it. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngPayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Smiths, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This recipe was not nearly as wonderful as I thought this would be based other's recipes. My husband thought is was *okay*, but I could have saved a lot of time by making a chocolate cake the "normal" way without all the hoopla this recipe puts you through, open up a can of fudge frosting and mix in some peanut butter and I think I would have gotten much better results. Would not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I made this for a friend's birthday and it was a big hit. The peanut butter layer is what makes this cake, and no one could figure out what made it so great. Also mixing the peanut butter with a tablespoon of vegitable oil before spreading on the cake makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was OK. I really was expecting this to be spectacular from the other reviews I had read. My husband and I thought the frosting was WAY too sweet. Kids liked it, though. There are much better recipes out there for the peanut buttery or fudgey that you crave. Sorry, I won't bother with this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I made this for my mom on Mother's Day. It was wonderful and my mom and grandmother both said it was the best cake they'd ever tasted. I tried to make this into a layer cake, but the icing is so thick and rich, I think it would do better in a 9x13 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is fudge on top of a very sweet cake, It was just too sweet overall for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States