Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
First off I only added 3 cups of sugar instead of 4. I know lots of reviewers said 2 cups, but it wasn't the right texture with just 2. Having said that, even with 3 cups of sugar it just didn't come out the right texture and came out kind of crappy smoothing on the cake. Not smooth at all. Also it's pretty greasy (and yes I used butter sticks and brand new name brand Jiffy peanut butter). Also, even though it does taste good, it just tastes like sugared peanut butter. I don't know if it's the texture or what, but to me I'd like it to be a little more of a subtle flavor. I will probably just try to add some peanut butter to a good buttercream frosting once I finally find one I like. That way I can have a more subtle peanut butter flavor. Having said all of that above (my opinion), my husband who is a peanut butter freak, absolutely loved it and asked me to always make his birthday cakes with this frosting. So I suppose I'll have to try to tweak it some in order to get it the right flavor/texture combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
A bit thin until refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe works beautifully to create frosting that has a light, fluffy texture. I gave it four stars simply because I think sugar content is way too high. I added only enough to suite my taste, and didn't use anywhere near 4 cups of sugar. It beat up nicely and spread so smoothly over a 9x13 cake. I say use your favorite peanut butter, and add sugar to your own taste. You may need to adjust the liquid to your desired consistency as well. This is now my favorite PB frosting! Just the smell had my boys begging for a spoonful...or three. Thanks for sharing, Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Peterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
It was delicious. I modified it as others did by halving the powdered sugar and it left me with a nice spreading and piping consistency. It was super creamy. I used skim milk instead of cream and it was still super rich as I did use real butter as others had suggested. I used it to frost chocolate banana cupcakes, topped with a peanut butter cup and it was super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This recipe tasted great! Tasted almost like the inside of a Reese's cup. But the only thing I didn't like was the fact that once it's sat you had a lot of oil dripping off, I used. A reduced fat peanut butter I have used in several recipes so not sure why. I did reduce the powdered sugar to 2 1/2 cups like one of the post recommended. All in all still a very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I chose this recipe because I didn't want to use more than one stick of butter in my frosting. It was great! I only needed 2 cups of sugar-the 4 has got to be a misprint because even with 1/2 that the frosting is super sweet. I used a full 1/3 cup of whole milk. It was the perfect amount for 24 chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
With the addition of 1 tsp of vanilla and only 3 cups of powered sugar, this is the BEST peanut butter frosting recipe EVER!!! Creamy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
4 cups of sugar was way too sweet for me. 2 cups will do. plus, this was really thick/dry, and very hard to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe has way too much sugar, and not enough peanut butter. I would increase PB by 1/2 cup, and cut the sugar in half. Use heavy whipping cream instead of cream or milk. And add just a 1/4 tsp of vanilla with the cream - then you'll have a good peanut butter icing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I had made a chocolate cake today.I had no frosting (forgot to pick one up.)so I wanted to see what I could use as a frosting so I saw this reciepe and loved it!! Very easy to make.I had the butter,jiffy peanut butter,no cream so I used milk.pure awsomeness.tast soo good.Great reciepe thank you so much.I just have a question I have some frosting left over.Can I save it like I could other frostings?&for how long can it be saved,and do I put it in the fridge (is where I have it rite now) or can it be left out??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States