Peanut Butter French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Made as directed, just heated peanut butter for 30 sec in microwave prior to cooking as suggested. I didn't need to heat again after, just kept stirring. For me, this recipe made enough for 6+ slices of bread. Light peanut-buttery taste, would have liked just a bit more so may add more peanut butter next time. Didn't need syrup or anything, just ate them straight. Was good :) It won't be a 'staple', but definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
A great twist on French toast! So good and I've had many compliments. Make sure and warm up the peanut butter in the microwave for about 20-30 seconds until it stirs easily before adding to the batter. This way, there will by no clumps and it will whisk in smoothly. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
It wasn't anything impressive. I mean it smelled amazing well cooking but it was a huge let down when I took that first bite. We made regular french toast yesterday and this today and really there wasn't enough of a wow factor for all the extra measuring and stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Overall, good recipe. I had some issues with getting the peanut butter to mix together so I melted it and then added it. But the mixture still didn't blend together that well. I think next time I might just pour the melted peanut butter over the toast, almost like a syrup. Or better yet I might cut up some french bread and bake it all in the oven. But I will definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeVonneJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe this morning. It turned out very good. I will double the recipe next time and add more peanut butter. But overall I think my kids will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Cute idea for children. I add double the amount of peanut butter, and it had a nice taste. Served it with little peanut butter balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Hmmm, different. I used unsalted butter to cook with instead of oil. I had enough batter to dip 8 pieces of bread so this actually ended up making 4 servings not 2 as stated unless you are cooking for a big eater like Hungry Jack or Jethro Bodine. I thought it was okay but I would rather not have it again, but my hubs loves peanut butter and syrup so I am sure this something he would love. The peanut butter kept wanting to sink to the bottom and it really didn't mix it well even though I used a whisk and kept stirring it even between bread dippings. Thanks for the idea Jessiker, I enjoyed making a new fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
definately melt the peanut butter first, but this is a staple breakfast in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I followed another reviewers advice and spread the peanut butter on the bread before dipping in the egg. I used cruncy peanut butter and topped with maple syrup. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Factoryville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very tasty! I read the reviews and heated the peanut butter for a smooth mixture and it covered very nicely. I only used 2 eggs because 3 seemed like so many and it turned out perfectly. Next time I will use a nice nonstick pan with cooking spray with little to no oil...the last 2 pieces were the best because they weren't soaking up all the oil. Overall very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States