Peanut Butter French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Interesting idea, but it did not work out. Kids took a bite and walked away. Just not a whole lot of peanut butter taste going on. I agree that warming the peanut butter helps smooth the batter, though. If I take anything away from this recipe, it will be to use the peanut butter, milk, vanilla and sugar mixture as a sauce for standard french toast. This spread (without the eggs) is actually very creamy and tasty. With a little honey drizzled on top - now that would be a hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I loved it and so did my kiddos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Love this. I've made it a few times now but had to tweak two things to make it easier and more to our liking. 1. We put the peanut butter inside two pieces of bread (it just did not like adhering to the outside with everything else and the flavor is maximized when its put inside the bread.) 2. We omitted the sugar (we've found it sweet enough without it.) I also use cinnamon swirl bread, just for extra flavor. Great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Made as directed, just heated peanut butter for 30 sec in microwave prior to cooking as suggested. I didn't need to heat again after, just kept stirring. For me, this recipe made enough for 6+ slices of bread. Light peanut-buttery taste, would have liked just a bit more so may add more peanut butter next time. Didn't need syrup or anything, just ate them straight. Was good :) It won't be a 'staple', but definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
A great twist on French toast! So good and I've had many compliments. Make sure and warm up the peanut butter in the microwave for about 20-30 seconds until it stirs easily before adding to the batter. This way, there will by no clumps and it will whisk in smoothly. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
It wasn't anything impressive. I mean it smelled amazing well cooking but it was a huge let down when I took that first bite. We made regular french toast yesterday and this today and really there wasn't enough of a wow factor for all the extra measuring and stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Overall, good recipe. I had some issues with getting the peanut butter to mix together so I melted it and then added it. But the mixture still didn't blend together that well. I think next time I might just pour the melted peanut butter over the toast, almost like a syrup. Or better yet I might cut up some french bread and bake it all in the oven. But I will definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeVonneJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe this morning. It turned out very good. I will double the recipe next time and add more peanut butter. But overall I think my kids will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Cute idea for children. I add double the amount of peanut butter, and it had a nice taste. Served it with little peanut butter balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Hmmm, different. I used unsalted butter to cook with instead of oil. I had enough batter to dip 8 pieces of bread so this actually ended up making 4 servings not 2 as stated unless you are cooking for a big eater like Hungry Jack or Jethro Bodine. I thought it was okay but I would rather not have it again, but my hubs loves peanut butter and syrup so I am sure this something he would love. The peanut butter kept wanting to sink to the bottom and it really didn't mix it well even though I used a whisk and kept stirring it even between bread dippings. Thanks for the idea Jessiker, I enjoyed making a new fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States