Peanut Butter French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
My teenage son loved this and it was really quite easy. Hint: to make peanut butter mix better, I first heated it in the microwave for 30-40 seconds, then added the milk, stirred and microwaved another 20 seconds. Then added the other ingredients, making for a thick, smooth batter. Served with warm maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I love peanut butter and any new way of eating it -I'll try it! This recipe caught my attention as I also love french toast. You definitely have to melt the peanut butter. I did add the optional vanilla extract as I always use that when making french toast. I also added a little nutmeg along with the cinnamon. I just eyeballed the ingredients, because I've been making french toast for years! Instead of veg. oil, I used butter. I never use veg. oil when making french toast. Overall, this was very good especially with some sliced bananas, a little extra melted peanut butter and some maple syrup on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This french toast was tasty! A very rich peanutty taste. I agree with a previous post that suggests melting the peanut butter before mixing with egg mixture. We did not do so, using the natural peanut butter. It was difficult to mix the peanut butter with the egg mixture, so our first two pieces had very little pb, but the others were coated. By the last piece, there were globs of pb coating the toast. Nothing to complain about if you like pb...Definitely stir batter prior to each dip. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TishaParrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was a good recipe, but I would suggest butter instead of vegetable oil, I would also find a way to melt the peanut butter, but you can blend all of the ingredients in by using a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinkie19842000

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I am going to spread one side of the bread with PB first, then dunk the bread in the egg mixture, then cook both sides. This method may also work for jelly, spread a good, adhering jelly to one side of the bread, then dunk into egg mixture, then cook. Interesting recipe! Definitely 5 stars for originality, yet extremely logical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My boys loved this. I followed the directions. Make sure to whisk the wet ingredients vigorously to get it all smooth. I used Texas Toast for the bread and got 6 slices. We served this with regular syrup and bananas. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
An even easier version...make french toast as normal, put a spoon of PB on right after it comes out of the pan. The PB will melt so you can spread it, then top with a maple syrup drizzle. To die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
WOW! That is all I can say. I may never eat French toast without the peanut butter again. It was sweet and yummy. I melted the pb 30 seconds but I think next time 20 might make it less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was excellent! The only trouble I had was getting the peanut butter to stay mixed, which may have been my brand or something. All I did was re-whip it before dipping a new piece of bread in. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I just used this recipe and I absolutely love the peanut butter taste it gives...I just wish that I had some ground cinnamon on me but i love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States