Peanut Butter French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipe was okay, but I woulldn't want to have it again. The taste of peanut butter was very subtle and I almost didn't notice it. It also turned the toast brown after it had been cooked which didn't make it look very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
It was worth trying, but I would not make this a second time. The peanut butter flavor is subtle, but still a bit strange for french toast. I also had trouble mixing the peanut butter in. I tried warming it first which helped, but I had to continue to stir it each time after I dipped the bread. It just wanted to glob together. When I was done there was a good amount of peanut butter left in the bowl that just didn't mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
it was very good. i add a little more peanutbutter then it called for. next time i'll put a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cake baby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
yummmyy! Ate this with bananas, honey, and chopped almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Hi, its me Casserroo I made this last night for dinner. My husband commented on how delicious it smelled when it was cooking. I did not change a single thing. The only thing I did differently was to mix the wet ingredients with my electric mixer. Then I added the peanut butter and also gave it a mix with the electric mixer on high. It seemed to do the trick. I did not have the problem that others mentioned about the peanut butter not mixing in properly. The toast smelled delicious and tasted delicious. By the way, did anyone else have extra batter left over. Perhaps next time I willuse thicker slices of bread. We ate it with peanut butter on top and slices of bananas. Yum Yum!!!Thanks for the great tasting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This isn't my cup of tea, but Husband loved it! I cut back on the amount of sugar, and upped the vanilla. Served it with some fresh sliced banana. Thanks, Jessiker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I did melt the peanut butter first as suggested and I also left out the sugar - I topped the toast with sliced bananas and maple syrup which is sugary enough for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Just made this with my son-so yummy! i gave it 4 stars only because i did not add the sugar- i didn't feel it was necessary with the vanilla and cinnamon added to sweeten it, and also since we would be dipping it in syrup. it turned out great!! thanks for sharing such a simple delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I gave it '4' stars because it brought back my memory to add vanilla, which I had always done but had gotten away from (living by myself). I had never thought about adding cinnamon. That IS the key (next to vanilla). It adds a very nice taste. Since I like the taste of egg, I cut the milk to 1/4c and add pinch of salt & pepper, (if you omit the pb), but again, that's my taste. I also had to cut the white sugar to only 1 T, otherwise too sweet for me. Yes, this is changed and should not be rated when you change it but I don't know how to add my comments without 'rating' it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
very good. The kids loved it. I may omit the cinnamon next time because it seems to mask the peanut butter flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cncgirl00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States