Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
My first really successful attempt at making choclates of the 'coating' genre! I used 'Whole Earth - Smooth Peanut Butter with No Added Sugar' so that I could control the sweetness of these. I used almost 2 cups of confectioners' sugar and had no hassle with 'too sweet' and they were moist enough without adding the milk so I skipped that. I made these into small balls and managed 48 of these! I left them to freeze over night. And followed the coating instructions to the T. To decorate, I took the advice of other reviewers and melted white chocolate, poured it into a baggie and drizzled over the set chocolates! They were a hit on my Easter platter and I'm getting more requests to make these again! thank you Valerie for the lovely recipe! And thank you reviewers for your advises! (Btw, I haven't changed the recipe, I've only modified the sweetness or else they may have been tooo sweet!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I absolutely love Reeses peanut butter cups. Thats why next time I will be using MILK CHOCOLATE instead of the semi-sweet. I also added more milk to the peanut butter mixture till it was creamier. Extra milk make the peanut butter mixture easy to mold and extra creamy when you eat them! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
needed more milk, otherwise perfect. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Great! Very easy to make and looked so elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These were SO good! I used half of a plastic egg to make the egg shape and placed them in everyone's Easter basket. I also chose to use half crunchy and half creamy PB. I used Ghiradelli melting chocolate (half a package) and 1 cup of milk chocolate chips along with the shortening as I was out of semi-sweet squares. Came out wonderful and the kids loved them! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
You have to add more peanut butter/milk or add not as much confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilovechins
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made my eggs with this same recipe. It was great! :) To decorate, i melted caramel and drizzled it on top. It was kind-of difficult but I got it to work. This is a great recipe, and it's fun to make! I made this with my brother and we had a blast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovechins

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I've used this same recipe for years to make into balls at Christmas, and even into hearts for Valentine's Day. One thing I do add in: I use a small amount of "dry roasted" peanuts, which I have whirred in food processor until VERY finely chopped - almost "dust" (about 1/4 - 1/3 cup). The saltiness and texture of the nut crumbs is very much like "Reese's" peanut butter cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These eggs were a blast to make, even though I made them all by myself. :) They are super easy to make, and taste amazing. Friends LOVE them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Yum! I made these yesterday and they were great! I had to tweak just a few things as we were on vacation all week and were missing some of the ingredients when we got back. I was out of milk so I added some ice cream instead. And I used chocolate chips with no shortening to do the chocolate covering. I wanted to make them pretty to I melted some peanut butter chips that I was going to dye with food colouring to drizzle on. When I added the food colouring to the first batch, it seized up and couldn't be used. So I just drizzled with peanut coloured drizzle. They still looked good and tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States