Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made these into small eggs last Easter and everyone loved them. I kind of forgot about this recipe until yesterday when I was looking for something to take to a Super Bowl gathering. I doubled the recipe, but used only 4 cups of powdered sugar. I added enough milk to make it creamy enough to shape. I like to use Peter Pan p.b. for cooking...it seems to be less dry than some other peanut butter. I shaped these into bite sized footballs, and dipped them in a combo of melted semi sweet and milk chocolate chips. Then I melted a small handful of white chocolate chips in a ziplock bag, snipped off a TINY corner of the bag and piped lines across the top to look like stitches on a football. They turned out great and were the hit of the party! Everyone raved about how cute they were and how much they tasted like a Reese's cup. It made enough that I also shaped about 15 hearts and put them in the freezer (before dipping) to use for Valentine's Day. This recipe is time consuming and messy, but worth it!!! My 8 year old said they taste like a cross between Reese's and heaven. :-). Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Yummy! I made them first per the recipe, but next time I will try cutting back on the sugar, as I think they don't need quite this much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I doubled this recipe and got about 36 eggs. I used a deviled egg tray to get the shape and freeze before coating with chocolate. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Good and creamy but very sweet. Good, simple recipe, but I personally probably wouldn't go through the trouble for these. I'm usually all for homemade stuff, but these just weren't good enough for the effort for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Pretty good! The peanut butter to chocolate ratio is not equal! I would do smaller sizes next time. Also, the dipping is a pain because the peanut butter doesn't stick together well enough! I tried all sorts of ways to get this to work, but it definitely wasn't easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe two stars because my sister, who is a sugar maniac, seemed to enjoy these. To me it tasted like sugar with a mild peanut flavour. Way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kecius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaunas, Kauno Apskritis, Lithuania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very Dry even after adding more milk than it called for. Had very little peanut butter taste after adding that much powdered sugar. I was able to fix it up but would not recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I couldn't find my mom's recipe to make my normal eggs so when I saw this recipe I thought well it has all the same ingredients. Boy was this a big mistake. I used my digital kitchen scale to masure the ingredients. Way to much sugar. It wouldn't stick together let alone form eggs. I will never use this again. When I find my mom's recipe that was handed down from my grandmother I will share. As for this recipe I wanted my eggs to taste like peanut butter not sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Great recipe. I cut back on the powdered sugar. They were plenty sweet enough without it. I shaped small eggs using a teaspoon. After dipping them in the chocolate I sprinkled colored spring mix sequins on them. Made the decorating easy. I ran out of dipping chocolate so next time I'll use more. I'd like to try milk chocolate next time, too, as I'm more of a milk chocolate person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
WAY TOO SWEET!! After reading other reviews, I cut the sugar in half and doubled the amount of peanut butter. The mixture turned out to be very easy to mold/handle but after adding the chocolate it was overwhelmingly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States