Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Big hit in the Easter baskets! I used a silicone egg mold for these, rather than dipping them. Just coat the mold, allow to harden, shape mixture into the desired shaped and place in the mold and cover tops with more chocolate. Sounds more involved, but was actually much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingdom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy R
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I had such fun making this recipe and then watching people's faces while they ate these tasty desserts! After reading comments about them being too sweet, I substituted natural peanut butter- with no added sugar- and found the sweetness level to be spot on. I had some trouble dipping the peanut butter balls in the chocolate after they cooled though- the chocolate didn't stick all that well. I had to go back over the holes later with chocolate on a spatula. But still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
my husband really liked them... even though they didn't come out very pretty, lol. practice makes perfect i guess :-]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made these for my family for easter. They were so good...everybody loved them. I didn't change a thing about the recipe. While I was mixing it it was very crumbly and I didn't think it was gonna come together, but it did. I didn't quite master the "egg" shape very well, so they didn't look the best, but they tasted much better than they looked! I doubled this recipe and used semi-sweet chocolate on half of the eggs and milk chocolate on the other half, It made about 35 eggs. My boyfriend couldn't even wait for the chocolate to finish hardening before he had to eat one :) thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Elswick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
My daughter and I made these for an Easter dessert this year and, what a hit! I doubled the recipe and gave some away as gifts--everyone raved. We used the toppings suggested and, also used toffee crunch, crushed cashews, and mini chocolate chips. All who tried said that they could definatley pass as store-bought. This recipe has definatley become one of our "Easter traditions" from this point on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this recipe according to the recipe and they turned out great. My only complaint was that they were difficult to form because of how dry they turned out. I made another batch with a few modifications. I added an extra cup of peanut butter and enough milk to bring the mixture to the desired thickness. I also added a Tbls. of vanilla. The extra peanut butter and milk made creamy peanut butter eggs, everyone at work raved about these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These are really cute, and tasted pretty good, but I felt that they were a little to sweet, and not quite peanut butter-y enough. I used ambrosia chocolate coating to dip them in. The chocolate hardened very quickly on the frozen balls. I decorated the eggs with little royal icing flowers/leaves. They looked adorable and were enjoyed by my family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by The~blooming~cook
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
What a Easter Hit! Everyone raved about these and gobbled them up in a hurry! And they wanted the recipe and asked me to bring more on the next holiday too! The only things i changed (based on the other reviews) is that I used 1/2 the sugar in PB mix, and i used bittersweet chocolate for dipping. They were creamy (not crumbly) and still really sweet too! I drizzled white chocolate on top and pink or yellow sprinkles for a little Easter dazzle. Put them in colored cupcake papers and they are even cuter and easy to hand out! I recommend using good quality chocolate and peanut butter for these... It makes all the difference in the taste and texture! SEE MY PHOTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The~blooming~cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These were amazing! So rich, I could only eat half of one. I only got 12 eggs out of this recipe, however, I felt that I did make my eggs a little on the bigger side. I put dollops of the PB mixture onto wax paper and shaped them while they were lying flat...I found this was easier to get the desired shape. Put them in the freezer overnight, then dipped them in the chocolate and put them back in the freezer for about an hour. (A word to first-timers like myself: the shortening is necessary to get a smooth finish.) Then I decided to melt some white almond bark and color it different pastel shades, and I streaked the colors across the eggs to make a pretty design. I did have a little trouble with the almond bark design breaking off the eggs after hardening. Don't know how to fix that other than just handling them delicately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These were really good! I added a tsp. of vanilla to the peanut butter mixture like another reviewer suggested. I also used the milk chocolate wafers from our local "Hobby Lobby" craft store to melt & dip the eggs in. I used the white mint wafers (tasted like andies mints) to write with. Everyone loved them and thought we ordered them from a bakery. This was easy, fun and now an Easter tradition in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States