Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Okay, so just as many others did, I increased the peanut butter to about 1 1/2 cups. i started off with about 3/4 the sugar in the mix and then added my milk, before adding more sugar until a good "dough" was formed. i ended up using about 14oz instead of 16oz and the consistency of the filling was perfect...like really soft pb cookie dough. I used melting chocolate for the coating. The eggs taste very good. (my altered recipe made 3 large eggs (about 1/2 lb a piece before the chocolate) My only problem was the dipping of the large eggs, which was a bit harder then expected...maybe they should have been in the freezer a bit longer?? They were in there an hour, but i would lengthen that for next time. in the end the best "dipping" method for me was to cover a plate in a layer of chocolate, then spoon chocolate over the large egg until it was covered on all sides, then i used a large spatula to transfer the egg to wax paper, so most of the extra chocolate stayed with the plate. This worked much better then trying to lower the large egg into a bowl to dip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Ours came out dry as well. Added 2 more tbsp milk and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
These are so amazint! My mom always made buckeyes at Christmas but they were never quite what I wanted. These hit the spot and they are super easy. My 9 year old son made them with me. The only thing that I did differently was added about 1-2 t vanilla and used almond bark for dipping. We are already making our second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I just finished making these. Very tasty recipe...did have to add a bit more peanut butter to make the filling stick together. however, as far as being aesthetically pleasing....not so much. I did the first batch egg shaped, the second batch I made into peanut butter cups. I had foil cups, so I just put a dollop of chocolate in, put a ball of chilled filling in, then topped with more chocolate. much neater of a presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
FOR THOSE HAVING TROUBLE "SHAPING" THESE INTO EGG SHAPES, SIMPLY USE THE PLASTIC FILLABLE EASTER EGGS. OPEN THEM UP, PRESS MIX DOWN INSIDE, PLACE THEM ON A COOKIE SHEET IN THE FREEZER FOR A FEW MINUTES. TURN THEM OVER, TAP ON THE COOKIE SHEET, AND THEY FALL RIGHT OUT BEAUTIFULLY SHAPED LIKE HALF AN EGG...!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
570 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My son and I made these tonight and I have to say they are the absolute BEST I have ever had!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
It was a rough week emotionally, so both Hubby and I needed a chocolate fix. This was the only recipe I thought I could handle given lack of energy and emotional fortitude. HA! This is a winner! I'm allergic to peanuts, so I substituted almond butter for the peanut butter, boosting the value of these suckers to at least double that of their cheaper cousins. But OMG! TERRIFIC! Very rich (as they should be :D)! But I had no trouble with the dough or the sweetness. I ended up kind of molding the chocolate to the almond butter as it was kind of stiff, but it was fun and yummy. Once again, look who's proudly strutting as Queen of the Lab for trying a new recipe -- and succeeding! Thank you, Valerie Lynn, for submitting this lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
The eggs were too dry to hold together. I followed the recipe to a "T". With it's rating, I didn't think I would have to read any reviews. It seems many agree. I was able to save it by following reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Wonderful recipe!! So much fun to make...lots of work but totally worth it when you watch your fam and friends gobble them up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2baking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States