Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is wonderful! I did end up using 5 Tbsp. of half n half instead of milk. Just too dry to mix. Also an entra spoonful of p.b. I shaped the eggs in the small plastic halves, then froze. It made 21 eggs, and 7 round bon bons. I ended up using 12 chocolate squares as all of these had to be dipped and an extra 1 1/2 tsp. of shortening. My (adult) kids will love them!! Excellent filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Delicious, but I ended up adding probably about a 1/4 cup or so of milk. Otherwise it was just peanut butter crumbs. Also, I formed the peanut butter eggs and then popped a tray of them in the refrigerator for about an hour and they were then perfect for the chocolate dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Texturally, these were not perfect for me. So I added graham cracker crumbs until they were. Problem solved, and not a fault with the recipe--I'm still experimenting with what works for my family! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Okay, so just as many others did, I increased the peanut butter to about 1 1/2 cups. i started off with about 3/4 the sugar in the mix and then added my milk, before adding more sugar until a good "dough" was formed. i ended up using about 14oz instead of 16oz and the consistency of the filling was perfect...like really soft pb cookie dough. I used melting chocolate for the coating. The eggs taste very good. (my altered recipe made 3 large eggs (about 1/2 lb a piece before the chocolate) My only problem was the dipping of the large eggs, which was a bit harder then expected...maybe they should have been in the freezer a bit longer?? They were in there an hour, but i would lengthen that for next time. in the end the best "dipping" method for me was to cover a plate in a layer of chocolate, then spoon chocolate over the large egg until it was covered on all sides, then i used a large spatula to transfer the egg to wax paper, so most of the extra chocolate stayed with the plate. This worked much better then trying to lower the large egg into a bowl to dip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Ours came out dry as well. Added 2 more tbsp milk and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
These are so amazint! My mom always made buckeyes at Christmas but they were never quite what I wanted. These hit the spot and they are super easy. My 9 year old son made them with me. The only thing that I did differently was added about 1-2 t vanilla and used almond bark for dipping. We are already making our second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I just finished making these. Very tasty recipe...did have to add a bit more peanut butter to make the filling stick together. however, as far as being aesthetically pleasing....not so much. I did the first batch egg shaped, the second batch I made into peanut butter cups. I had foil cups, so I just put a dollop of chocolate in, put a ball of chilled filling in, then topped with more chocolate. much neater of a presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
FOR THOSE HAVING TROUBLE "SHAPING" THESE INTO EGG SHAPES, SIMPLY USE THE PLASTIC FILLABLE EASTER EGGS. OPEN THEM UP, PRESS MIX DOWN INSIDE, PLACE THEM ON A COOKIE SHEET IN THE FREEZER FOR A FEW MINUTES. TURN THEM OVER, TAP ON THE COOKIE SHEET, AND THEY FALL RIGHT OUT BEAUTIFULLY SHAPED LIKE HALF AN EGG...!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My son and I made these tonight and I have to say they are the absolute BEST I have ever had!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States