Peanut Butter Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I LOVED THESE PEANUT BUTTER EGGS!!! I cut back on the sugar, but only by an ounce or two. I also added a total of 1 1/2-2Tbsp milk. I made 24 eggs out of the recipe! I did have to increase the chocolate to 12 oz and the crisco to 1 1/2Tbsp. YUMMY and EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very good. I made as directed, except that I needed 3 T. milk to get my ingredients to combine. I made these bite size, which yielded 40+. The only reason that these don't get 5 stars is because they were kinda dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I cut the sugar in half and used additional peanut butter and they were still way too sweet. But kept in freezer for 24 hours+, and served directly from freezer they were much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
These eggs were great! I used half crunchy/half creamy peanut butter. One thing I wasn't sure of from original recipe was weather to use a mixer, and whether to have the butter softened. I chose to soften my butter in the microwave and just stir the ingredients by hand. I also melted my semisweet squares and shortening in the microwave for about 2 minutes rather than on the stove. Also, I only let my eggs sit in the freezer for about 10 minutes before dipping them. However, poking them with the fork tines didn't work for me, so I just dropped them in and lifted out with the fork. My single batch made over 20 eggs. Have fun with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Unbelievable! They were very easy to make and so good! My kids all said they were better than what you can buy at the store. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is wonderful! I did end up using 5 Tbsp. of half n half instead of milk. Just too dry to mix. Also an entra spoonful of p.b. I shaped the eggs in the small plastic halves, then froze. It made 21 eggs, and 7 round bon bons. I ended up using 12 chocolate squares as all of these had to be dipped and an extra 1 1/2 tsp. of shortening. My (adult) kids will love them!! Excellent filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Delicious, but I ended up adding probably about a 1/4 cup or so of milk. Otherwise it was just peanut butter crumbs. Also, I formed the peanut butter eggs and then popped a tray of them in the refrigerator for about an hour and they were then perfect for the chocolate dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Texturally, these were not perfect for me. So I added graham cracker crumbs until they were. Problem solved, and not a fault with the recipe--I'm still experimenting with what works for my family! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Okay, so just as many others did, I increased the peanut butter to about 1 1/2 cups. i started off with about 3/4 the sugar in the mix and then added my milk, before adding more sugar until a good "dough" was formed. i ended up using about 14oz instead of 16oz and the consistency of the filling was perfect...like really soft pb cookie dough. I used melting chocolate for the coating. The eggs taste very good. (my altered recipe made 3 large eggs (about 1/2 lb a piece before the chocolate) My only problem was the dipping of the large eggs, which was a bit harder then expected...maybe they should have been in the freezer a bit longer?? They were in there an hour, but i would lengthen that for next time. in the end the best "dipping" method for me was to cover a plate in a layer of chocolate, then spoon chocolate over the large egg until it was covered on all sides, then i used a large spatula to transfer the egg to wax paper, so most of the extra chocolate stayed with the plate. This worked much better then trying to lower the large egg into a bowl to dip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Ours came out dry as well. Added 2 more tbsp milk and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States