Peanut Butter Dreams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I was expecting a peanut buttery version of a chocolate covered rice crispy treat. So once I got over my disappointment, I realized that these are those little chocolate covered peanut butter balls my mother made at Christmas when I was a little girl. I loved them then and I love them now! I don't have the patience (or the time) to dip all those little balls, so I pressed the filling into a 9x13 pan and spread the chocolate over the top. Cut into little yummy squares, they are a tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamie lynn
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This recipe is great, I highly recommend it. I use my hands to mix the peanut butter, crisp rice, etc...It works a lot better than a spoon, and is just as fast as a mixer, but doesn't crush the crisp rice. I just combined it and then kneaded it so to speak while still in the bowl. The warmth from your hands softens the butter without melting it all the way to create a firm but pliable dough. Also, when coating the balls, i used a spoon and a fork. I dropped a ball in the chocolate, then used a spoon to roll it around to coat, then rolled it onto the fork and lifted it out, so the excess chocolate could drain off. (Oh, and a splash of vanilla in the peanut butter mixture rounds out the flavor) This was my 6th time making these, that's just how good they go over whether you're making them for family, bake sales, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birch Run, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
love this recipe! after making it a dozen times over the years, here's the process i use. technique tips: 1.] mix with hands as previous review suggests [that reviewer was me, i had to make a new account]...2.] use a cookie scoop to scoop balls onto a wax paper lined baking sheet and freeze for a couple hours....3.] using your hands, dip the bottoms only into the chocolate so that they're about 1/2 covered and place back on lined cookie sheet....4.] either use a fork to drizzle remaining chocolate over the tops, or pour it into a bag an snip off a tiny bit of the corner and drizzle that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoopertrooper
Home Town: Birch Run, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I made this recipe for the first time at Christmas. Everyone loved them and was wishing I had made more! I patted the peanut butter mixture into a 9X13" pan and frosted with the chocolate mixture - easier and faster than making into balls and dipping! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
these are a major hit with my family! i followed someone's advice and pressed the peanut butter mixture into the pan and then just poured the chocolate over the top & refridgerated. then i cut them into little squares. let the chocolate soften up a little after it hardens in the fridge before you cut and then chill them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These are great-my kids go crazy for them. Usually, I don't bother to dip them in chocolate and rolling in coconut is a nice variation, too. Great peanut butter taste and the rice crisps add interesting texture. Chunky peanut butter is good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I made these for a cookie exchange- they were a hit and easy to make, and I had all the ingredients on hand- thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Really good. I only used 3 cups of conf. sugar - it seemed like it would be too dry with all 4. Use a fork to dip the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
These are great!! Very light, which can be bad because I ate more. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Excellent!! I loved them and so did everybody else. They do take a long time to make. But it is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States