Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
The pups loved these! I didn't have flax seeds, so I used a little flax seed oil. Definitely required a lot of flour and I added a bit more oats as well. Like everyone said... it makes a huge batch, but I didn't mind because we had a lot of dogs to share with. Oh and for some of them, I cut strips and then scored the dough so that they could be broken into smaller bits later if wanted. Kind of a choose your size treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I too didn;t have any spelt flour, so like other suggestions just used 4 cups of plain flour. Also, I split the dry ingredients into two batches. One batch I put in 1.25 cups of chicken broth, 1 clove of crushed garlic, and 1/2 teaspoon of parsley, half a cup of reduced fat, lactose free shredded cheese. I found the dough a bit too sticky so added an extra half cup of flour while kneading it. The second batch I added 2 well heaped table spoons of reduced fat peanut butter, 1.25 cups of water, 1/2 cup of flour and half a cup of diced apple. As the dough was still sticky I rolled it out between 2 sheets of cooking paper and lightly sprinkled more flour to make it workable then cut into shapes. Baked for approx 40 mins and let cool. I have a small oven though, so it took a few rounds to bake it all. My dogs loved it. In fact one of my dogs saw me putting the last batch into the oven and has been sitting there waiting for them to come out with a puddle of drool emmerging on the floor below his mouth. These are fantastic and I will definately be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Loved this simple, cost-effective recipe. Didn't have flax on hand, so subbed in wheatgerm and it worked just fine. Have to agree with other reviewers that 40 minutes would be too much baking time (at least in my oven!) Reduced to 20 minutes and it worked out great!. Next time will try using some stock with the water to make them meaty (for variety!), but the dogs loved them just as they were! Strangely enough, so did my husband....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Castleton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The dogs love these, they even wanted to eat the dough before it was cooked. Like several other commenters said, I will reduce the cooking time next time I make these, otherwise they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made a few changes-used all whole wheat flour and left out the flax seeds since I didn't have any. I also added about 1/4-1/2 tsp ground cinnamon. I rolled them a bit thick and just sliced into 1/2-inch squares using a pizza cutter (to save time). I only spaced them about 1/4 inch apart on the cookie sheet and had no trouble with them baking, did cut the time to 30 minutes and left them in the oven an additional 30 minutes. My Jack Russels love this "cookie" (and one of them is EXTREMELY picky). This will go into the permanent rotation for doggie goodies. Although I cut the recipe in half I still had way too much dough (for 2 small dogs) so I froze half for later. After thawing in the fridge for a day, the biscuits baked up perfectly. In the future I'll just mix a whole batch and freeze in quarters. Thanks for a great treat-Juliet and Lily thank you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe is real simple to make, real easy. Instead of spelt flour I subsituted whole wheat and instead of flax seeds I used 3 TBS of flax seed meal. My 3 dogs really like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
My dogs will no longer accept any treat but these!! That says it all!! I did slightly alter the ingredients, based on their preferences: 3c. wheat flour, 1c. cornmeal (makes for a crunchier biscuit - not just hard *careful, some dogs are sensitive to corn), and veggie broth instead of water.--I had to add to my previous review - I added about 1 1/2 c. water in addition to the broth -this made it thin enough for me to use my cookie press with the filling tip. It sped up the process, lightened up the biscuits, and increased the yield. it's a win/win/win!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sambev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was my first try at making dog cookies. My Yorkie loves them. I used whole wheat flour only, add 1/2 cup dark molasses, knocked the water down to 2 cups, but had to add a little more water just enough to work the dough. I tested them a few times today by holding one of his store bought cookies and these, he chose these every time. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Thumbs up on this. Had to sub out a few things to what was on hand. Used some wheat germ and flax meal. Both dogs loved it. I would suggest freezing little baggies of them, and use them as needed small bags at a time---for without preservatives they will most likely get stale or moldy I would imagine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
My dog and another dog I was babysitting gave this recipe two paws up. I used whole wheat flour instead of spelt, but left everything the same otherwise. One thing I really like about this recipe is that it doesn’t contain milk or cheese which can be difficult for dogs to digest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States