Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
As a few other reviewers mentioned, wheat flour is not great for dogs (although whole wheat is much better than all-purpose). I've made these a couple of times now, and I like to substitute the flours for ground oats and ground brown rice (equal parts). I just throw the rice and oats in my food processor and let it run for several minutes until they're fine and powdery. They absorb a little more water than the flours, so I also add an extra two tablespoons of peanut butter to help hold them together. These are a great accompaniment to the Christmas treat plates we give out to our pet-loving neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My two dogs absolutely love these biscuits. I have a cookie cutter shaped like a bone and it really makes a lot. I used all wheat flour, didn't have the other but they don't seem to mind. :) Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
i used flax flour instead of spelt and the puppies loved it! great recipe! its fast and easy and dog approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
my golden LOVES peanut butter so i made it for her on her birthday it turned out great and she LOVED it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
These were a little messy to make but turned out wonderful! I love this easy to follow Halloween treat for my Boxer puppy!! He LOVED them!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Me and my dog loved them! (Yes I ate some and they were tasty!) Makes a heck of a lot (I got over 125 2" round circles) so I froze mine, and just take them out as I need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linkerts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I had to change this up a little due to a dog with food allergies but they both LOVE it. I used all gluten free baking flour instead of the whole wheat and spelt. The dough came out gooey-er than expected so added a little more flour. I"m not much of a roll out and cookie cut person, so I just dropped dollops of dough onto the cookie sheet, like an old fashioned oatmeal cookie and flattened it out a bit. Yes, it is very sticky. Baked for only about 20 - 25 mintues so they remained just a little chewy. My dogs are crazy for these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
These are a HIT with our Goldens. They actually DEMAND for these buscuits! (Mental image to help explain this: You are getting ready to leave, keys in hand, in the bathroom, and your dog is BARKING at you for their PB buscuit before you leave) It's hilarious! But for those venturing into buscuit making, these are super easy to make, and our pups LOVE them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great recipe, would have gotten five stars if they substituted spelt flour for brown rice flour! Brown rice flour helps with dog digestion and as a previous reviewed mentioned, wheat flour can cause a lot of problems for dogs on the inside and out. Definitely recommended otherwise! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by papresq
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I 1/2'd this recipe and added 1/4 cup of applesauce. Made tiny and medium biscuits and it made 14 medium/70 tiny cookies. VERY easy to make and the dogs love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

See how to make the perfect frosting for brownies or cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States