Peanut Butter Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I gave it a 2 star rating because I am not sure what I did wrong. I DO know I forgot to add the "pinch of salt". Would that cause the cupcakes not to rise? Outside of forgetting the salt I followed it to the T. The ones that are smaller look baked through but flat the bigger ones do not look baked through and also are flat. We will still eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
the perfect peanut butter cupcake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pottergirl
Home Town: Bakersville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I was really dissapointed. I made these cupcakes(sub oil instead of shortening and added 1/2 extra cup peanut butter) The cupcakes were bitter and tasted more like flour than peanut butter. You couldn't taste the peanut butter at all. The best part of the cupcake was the hershey kiss I put in the middle. Very very dissapointing.........still looking for a peanut butter cupcake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Oh my, these are dangerous because they are sooo good! I followed the recipe except did 1/4 shortening and 1/4 oil since some people suggested oil and I didn't really want to change the recipe. I added dark chocolate kissables (the little candy coated kisses) so some of the cupcakes and those were the best! They got soft and really added to the flavor and who can resist chocolate and peanut butter together? The cupcakes with the kissables in them didn't even need frosting! My chicklets were in heaven with these! They'll be wanting them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I followed this recipe as written, and it turned out to be a nice, delicious dessert. Everyone liked it. My grandson suggested we use chunky peanut butter the next time, and I probably will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I was so excited to make these for work...and home. The batter was tart. I hoped that after baking they would be ok. Nope, these almost had no taste whatsoever. Put frosting on, hoping that is what they were missing. Nope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Very good recipe. I followed exactly as stated but did add a bit more peanut butter to really bring out the flavor. Since they are so sweet, instead of icing, I topped with a shot of whipped cream, drizzled with caramel sauce and sprinkled with some chopped peanuts. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarensKitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
The cupcakes were just ok. I was so excited to make these, as I LOVE peanut butter, but I was disappointed. As others mentioned, mine turned out dry, and I feel like I need to dunk them in milk just to eat them. The flavour itself was just ok. I followed the recipe exactly. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Made these a few weeks ago and turned out great. I did not alter the repice at all. Made a second batch and only filled the cups half full then put in a spoon of grape jelly in some and raspberry jam in others then topped up with more batter. Had a couple of bananas that had seen a better life so smooshed them up and did the same - adding a spoon full to some of the cupcakes. What a pleasant surprise for those biting in for the first mouthful. No frosting but just a drizzle of glaze for a bit of decoration. These were plenty sweet and plenty tasty without icing. No one knew what "centre" they were getting so each cupcake was a pleasant surprise. This will be a keeper but will have to experiment with applesauce in place of the shortening - especially as there is an OVER ABUNDANCE of apples at my house. Canned applesauce is filling the shelves and if it works in this recipe will be put to good use this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These cupcakes came out great - I love the recipe! What a nice change from boxed cake mixes to make cupcakes! I'm having a hard time deciding whether to pipe in a jelly filling, or use chocolate (or both?). For high altitude, I added 1/4 cup extra flour (because box cake mixes always say to do that), and I also added an egg white for extra "fluffiness" - because I like to do that. I ended up with 30 cupcakes using about 1/4 cup batter per cupcake paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States