Peanut Butter Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
The cupcakes were just ok. I was so excited to make these, as I LOVE peanut butter, but I was disappointed. As others mentioned, mine turned out dry, and I feel like I need to dunk them in milk just to eat them. The flavour itself was just ok. I followed the recipe exactly. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Made these a few weeks ago and turned out great. I did not alter the repice at all. Made a second batch and only filled the cups half full then put in a spoon of grape jelly in some and raspberry jam in others then topped up with more batter. Had a couple of bananas that had seen a better life so smooshed them up and did the same - adding a spoon full to some of the cupcakes. What a pleasant surprise for those biting in for the first mouthful. No frosting but just a drizzle of glaze for a bit of decoration. These were plenty sweet and plenty tasty without icing. No one knew what "centre" they were getting so each cupcake was a pleasant surprise. This will be a keeper but will have to experiment with applesauce in place of the shortening - especially as there is an OVER ABUNDANCE of apples at my house. Canned applesauce is filling the shelves and if it works in this recipe will be put to good use this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These cupcakes came out great - I love the recipe! What a nice change from boxed cake mixes to make cupcakes! I'm having a hard time deciding whether to pipe in a jelly filling, or use chocolate (or both?). For high altitude, I added 1/4 cup extra flour (because box cake mixes always say to do that), and I also added an egg white for extra "fluffiness" - because I like to do that. I ended up with 30 cupcakes using about 1/4 cup batter per cupcake paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Very good cupcakes! Taste fine alone but I love frosting! This is my favorite recipe for peanut butter frosting: 1 c. powdered sugar, 3 T. softened butter, 1/2 c. peanut butter, and 2.5 T. milk or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I cut this recipe in half to yield 12 cupcakes. As much as I thought my peanut butter loving kids would love these cupcakes, they just didn't. If it weren't for the fact that I topped these with Caroline's Chocolate Frosting (from this site), most of these would have gone to waste. They are really lacking in peanut butter flavor, and while they aren't dry, they are crumbly. Even with the relatively low amount of shortening (1/4 cup for 12 cupcakes), combined with the peanut butter, these have an almost greasy texture. Sorry, these won't be a repeat in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made this as a cake. It was wonderful. Not too much peanut butter, perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Amazingly delicious! These cupcakes taste like fluffy peanut butter cookies. You must use OIL instead of shortening to make them very moist. Don't even try using shortening. It made about 32 cupcakes. Some were slightly cracked like cookies on the top, and to prevent that I recommend baking them spread out (6 cupcakes per 12-cup muffin tin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
my cupcakes were sunkin as soon as i took the out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Lover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
No amount of adjusting, adding, etc. could make these worthy of more than three stars. Hardly any peanut butter flavor (tried Peter Pan and Skippy natural, ), tasted the flour more than anything, bland to say the least. I dumped a couple handfuls of chocolate chips in my last batch to try to salvage them...nope.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States