Peanut Butter Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I'm honored to give the first review of this fabulous recipe! These cupcakes were simple to make and came out so moist and flavorful. I ended up with 30 of the best cupcakes I've ever had. My family and coworkers called them fabulous but I call them evil....cause I can't stop eating them! I used the Chocolate Frosting 1 recipe that I found on this site. I highly recommend this one, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I used 2 teaspoons of lemon juice instead of cream of tartar. they turned out very tasty and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Wow!! I didn't expect to like these as much as I do. They're not to sweet and they are moist. I did make some changes as suggested by other reviews and some of my own. I used all natural peanut butter, used 1/2 apple sauce and 1/2 oil no shortening, and used 1 cup whole wheat flour and the balance in all-purpose. These are definately a keeper!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Yum! After reading through some other reviewers' suggestions I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce in place of the shortening. And by accident, I only used 1 cup of brown sugar. I didn't notice a lack of sweetness by any means; perhaps the sweetness in the applesauce balanced this out. The cupcakes came out moist with a delicious peanut butter flavor, not overpowering. I frosted them with milk chocolate frosting and my peanut butter-loving fiance said they were "the best food" he has ever had! I put about 10 of the cooled cupcakes (w/o frosting) in a ziplock bag and froze them. To thaw, simply take cupcakes out of the bag about 45 minutes before you want to eat them. Tasted so fresh and moist! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Seneca, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
These turned out great! As per one of the user comments, I added chopped reese peanute butter cups to it. I also iced it with chocolate ganache and added a couple of reeses pieces on top. I followed the reciped for 24 servings but it yielded 32 regular sized cupcakes. They wered delish! And even more so after 6-8 hours. So I would recommend making them in the morning for the evening or allowing them to sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Excellent, however I would advise against not using cupcake papers. I opted to grease the first batch with shortening, disaster, they are so moist that the bottoms stuck to holder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I absolutely love these. So does my husband. Had to use oil in leiu or shortening but everything else is the same. I used Adams natural peanut butter for a strong flavor. I've made these three times in the past week! They're great with chocolate buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Wow! These turned out perfectly. They rose beautifully and had a very intense peanut butter flavor. I chopped up some Reese's peanut butter cups I had sitting in the fridge and added that to the batter before spooning into the tins. Once they were baked and cooled I frosted these pretty cupcakes with my own milk chocolate buttercream. Yummmm. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by BakingMom08
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
They were amazing.... When I made the 1st batch.. you could barely taste the peanut butter and it was a bit dry.. so in the second batch I put 1 1/2 cups of peanutt butter and 1/2 a cup of shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingMom08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
These were so delicious - I probably gained about 3 pounds just from eating them every day (about 2-3). I used store-bought chocolate icing on top since I love peanut butter with chocolate. The only complaint I have is that they were very crumbly (messy) and I stuck to the recipe. They could have been a little more moist too. Maybe I'll try them with oil next time (as that's a secret many bakeries use). Thanks so much - I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bacon Cupcakes

What's cooking in Milwaukee? These cupcakes, also known as the Peanut Bomb!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States