Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
This turned out great! I was a little worried at first because I used 2% milk and the milk/sugar/egg mix never got really thick, but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
My quest for an excellent Peanut Butter Ice Cream ends here. This base is fantastic and the Peanut Butter cups are a nice addition. I substituted skim milk for whole. I replaced the condensed milk and half-half with 1 1/4 c heavy cream and 3/4 c sugar. The first batch is almost gone! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This ice cream is superb - thanks Maria for the recipe. My husband is a huge peanut butter cup fan and this recipe did not disappoint. I used 2 per cent milk in place of the whole milk, and whole milk in place of the half-and half. I used light condensed milk, 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/3 cup of peanut butter (as some indicated it was too peanut buttery). I couldn't find miniature peanut butter cups, so used 6 regular sized cups, chopped. To deal with the thickening issue other reviewers identified, I beat the eggs and sugar on high speed (I have a Kitchen Aid electric mixer - so things usually need less time than indicated) for 4 minutes. The cooking time to make the custard is then the 5 minutes, as it's already thick to begin with - and because the recipe makes a custard, the lower fat milks still yield a creamy texture. I'll definitely make again and add some skim milk next time just to see the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
we changed the settings to 14 servings for a family event. I also used recees peices instead of cups. It was really sweet. Almost too sweet. And a very rich peanut butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
My husband is a peanut butter freak everything has to be peanut butter. I messed up by trying this recipe. Every other week the question is "honey, when are you making the peanut butter ice cream again?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Oh Man! This is some seriously good ice cream. Perfect amount for a two pint maker, too. I froze the p-nut butter cups after chopping them and before I folded them into the ice cream. Super creamy! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Rabon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yosemite National Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
It was very good but I think next time I will cut back on the peanut butter and condensed milk as I thought it was a little to sweet and the peanut butter was a little to over powering. I added some extra milk. I will continue to make as it was good but for our taste needed some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I made this with my husband and we loved it!!! I was worried because it took ~15mins of slow cooking to thicken the mix sine I used 2% milk instead of whole milk and cream instead of half and half and chocolate chips instead of PB cups (since that's what we had in the house) but it still came out so creamy and peanut buttery!! We plan on making this treat again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
So delicious! This was my first time ever making ice cream and this was perfect. My husband and his brother both said it was the best ice cream they have ever had- and they are serious ice cream lovers as well as very honest food critics! I think I added a little less PB, maybe a 1/2 cup and it was still peanut buttery without being too much. I will most definitely be making this again. . . and again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAS23
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This is such a delicious, creamy ice cream! As a peanut butter lover, the pure nutty flavor is perfect (although it might overpower someone wh's not a 100% PB fan). Using 2% milk will also work for this recipe and lightens the ice cream up a bit. A definite repeat in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States