Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Really peanut buttery! Family and the neighbors all enjoyed this ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
1st recipe using my ice cream maker and it was very good. I used fat free half and half. Might use 2% milk and less peanut butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was my first time using my ice cream maker, and this recipe was a good one to start off with. It was very dense and sweet- probably sweeter than I thought it was going to be. If I make it again next time I will use more peanut butter cups, and maybe some chocolate chips to give it more of a chocolate/peanut butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abickman1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This ice cream was excellent! It received rave reviews from all of my family! The recipe didn't lie when it says that this ice cream is very rich - a little goes a long way! I refridgerated the peanut butter cups for about a half an hour before cutting them up, so that the chocolate didn't melt as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
My quest for an excellent Peanut Butter Ice Cream ends here. This base is fantastic and the Peanut Butter cups are a nice addition. I substituted skim milk for whole. I replaced the condensed milk and half-half with 1 1/4 c heavy cream and 3/4 c sugar. The first batch is almost gone! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Oh Man! This is some seriously good ice cream. Perfect amount for a two pint maker, too. I froze the p-nut butter cups after chopping them and before I folded them into the ice cream. Super creamy! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Rabon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yosemite National Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This ice cream is superb - thanks Maria for the recipe. My husband is a huge peanut butter cup fan and this recipe did not disappoint. I used 2 per cent milk in place of the whole milk, and whole milk in place of the half-and half. I used light condensed milk, 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/3 cup of peanut butter (as some indicated it was too peanut buttery). I couldn't find miniature peanut butter cups, so used 6 regular sized cups, chopped. To deal with the thickening issue other reviewers identified, I beat the eggs and sugar on high speed (I have a Kitchen Aid electric mixer - so things usually need less time than indicated) for 4 minutes. The cooking time to make the custard is then the 5 minutes, as it's already thick to begin with - and because the recipe makes a custard, the lower fat milks still yield a creamy texture. I'll definitely make again and add some skim milk next time just to see the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by MARIAS23
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This is such a delicious, creamy ice cream! As a peanut butter lover, the pure nutty flavor is perfect (although it might overpower someone wh's not a 100% PB fan). Using 2% milk will also work for this recipe and lightens the ice cream up a bit. A definite repeat in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Fabulous -- a neighborhood favorite -- I changed one thing -- doubled the amount of peanut butter cups -- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Super peanut-buttery, but still great! This was my first time to make ice cream, and it was amazing. We used the Reese's peanut butter shapes that you can get around the holidays instead of the miniature cups. I thought it could it could use a bit more chocolate, but my peanut butter-loving fiance and best friend both loved it and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States