Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Great recipe! I followed it exactly despite all the claims of it being "too peanut buttery" and "too sweet." I think most of the users probably used a name brand peanut butter like JIFF or SKIPPY, which has TONS of added sugar. I used a natural peanut butter with nothing but peanuts, no sugar. I added a pinch of salt to the mix to help heighten the peanut flavor. It worked great! Marking as a Favorite to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by takapitcha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My dad said the only ice cream he has ever had that was creamier is Haagan-Dazs. My husband said I have achieved what others (including Ben & Jerry's) have not, ice cream that actually tastes like peanut butter! One factor that I think is important for this recipe is what kind of peanut butter you like. This recipe does not specify which one to use. Only a few reviewers really acknowledged in their reviews what kind of peanut butter they used. I think that this recipe will probably come out very different based just on what kind of peanut butter used. For example, regular peanut butter already has sugar in it, varying amounts based on the brand too, and different kinds of oils/fats, whereas natural peanut butter is usually just peanuts and salt (sometimes not even salt). What our culture typically calls peanut butter is really a peanut-flavored spread. Natural peanut butter tastes like peanuts. It just comes down to personal preference. I was shooting for a more natural peanut butter flavor in my ice cream. Therefore, I followed this recipe with only a few alterations that changed this recipe to fit our tastes. 1)I used 2% milk instead of whole milk. 2)I used natural peanut butter (ingredients were peanuts and salt), the entire 3/4 cup as is stated in the recipe. 3)I only used 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk because I didn't want the sweet taste to overpower the peanut taste. It was OUT OF THIS WORLD! I can't believe I made ice cream so creamy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Well, the idea of this ice cream is great. I'm a fan of peanut butter, especially with chocolate, but this ice cream had too much peanut butter for me. Next time I would probably cut the peanut butter to no more than 1/2 cup, maybe even 1/3 cup. But then, I usually prefer my chocolate to be the dominant flavor, so maybe next time I'll make a chocolate ice cream, add about 1/4 peanut butter to it plus the peanut butter cups. However, I'm still giving this 4 stars because it was good and rich, just not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This Ice Cream is "Slap your momma good"!!! My rating would be more accurate with 10 STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plecanu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This came out great the first time I made it, and even better after I adjusted to my own personal taste. The first time I made it, I felt it was a little too sweet so I: used heavy cream and additional sugar for a total of 2/3 cup of sugar (I never have sweetened condensed milk), added about 2 tablespoons of good cocoa powder, and didn't add as many peanut butter cups. I also added about 1/4 tsp of kosher salt. The salt really enhanced the flavor of the peanut butter. I usually only have extra crunchy peanut butter so I put it in the food processor to make it creamier. This results in tiny bits of peanuts. :) Everyone loves it, and the texture is divine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I could not believe this came out of my kitchen-- it put fancy ice cream shops to shame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Doubled the recipe for a 2 qrt machine. Used whipping cream instead of milk, only because it has a longer shelf life than milk, and only 1 teaspoon vanilla. I froze my peanut butter cups so they were easy to chop before adding the pieces the ice cream the last 5 minutes in the machine. Highly reccomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I loved every mouth full.Can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
heaven in a bowl... definitely peanut buttery, which is a plus in my peanut butter obsessed house :D this is the first ice cream recipe i have ever tried... and i will never buy ice cream again. Thank you very much for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
rich and creamy!! AMAZING!! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States