Peanut Butter Cup Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Fail-proof. I followed the directions and everything turned out perfectly. ADVICE: freeze (or put in fridge) unwrapped PB cups - it is easier to press the frozen candy into the hot cookie without falling to pieces. SUPERB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2573 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RETROGIRL35
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
WOW! Fantastic Recipe! Made a single batch to try it out exactly as it was printed. Some Key Tricks I Used: **Make dough, and pop into refrigerator for about an hour--it makes cookies easier to scoop. **I used the smallest cookie scoop I had (approx 2 tsp) and levelled off the bottom (so I had exact size balls (With flattened ends!) **I scooped the first batch into the mini muffin tin...and while that batch baked, I scooped the rest of the dough onto a plate--that way I could quickly refill the pan once cooled (I have asked Santa for an extra pan for Christmas--It would be good to make more than 12 at a time!!!) **Freeze PB Cups, unwrap, then pop back into freezer--until cookies are out of oven. **Allow middles to "sink" a bit before adding the pb cup(should happen when removed from the oven after 8 minutes) the "sink" will prevent the sides of the cookie from cracking. **ABSOLUTELY refrigerate the pan before removing cookies for cooling rack... BUT **Decorate with sprinkles BEFORE refrigerating pan--place decor quickly, as the chocolate will start to melt. Shifting placement of the decorations will be tricky! **Once cooled...HIDE from husband, kids, neighbours...they disappear faster than you can make 'em! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I'm not sure where I went wrong, but it most have been me because all of the other reviews don't mention the cookies cracking. I used a regular muffin tin, ungreased. The balls stayed as balls, no spreading. When I took them out at 8 mins. and pressed the frozen p-nutbutter cup in, the cookies edges cracked and seperated. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
781 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
These were pretty good. One thing I can say is that they dont look like they're done cooking after 8 minutes, but they are. Dont make the mistake of overbaking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
454 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
5 Stars! I used my husband's sugary "Skippy" Peanut Butter. Also used a cookie sheet insted of a muffin pan, and cookies turned out perfect. EASY TO MAKE. DELICIOUS. Everyone raved about them, even people who normally didn't like peanut butter. INGREDIENTS AND TIMING ARE PERFECT. I wouldn't suggest changing a thing. I thought that they were not done at first, and was tempted to leave them in longer, but the cook time was perfect. LONGEVITY/FRESHNESS. The cookies stayed fresh and soft for quite awhile in the cookie tins they were in. OVERALL, an excellent recipe that I will be making and sharing every Christmas, for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~ANGEL~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
I made these for my Christmas Party and they were a hit! I doubled the recipe and came out with 72 cookies. I would recommend popping the trays into the refrigerator after you place the candy cups in the cookies. If you don't, the chocolate centers keep melting and it takes longer for them to cool and store. Easy to remove from the tray and small enough to fit many on a serving tray. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
These are great! My husband has pretty much polished them off in 2 days by himself, I will have to make a couple more batches for the christmas tins. One hint, I didn't know how big to make the balls of dough, to get 40 cookies, make them about 3/4 inch in diameter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I used whole wheat white flour (it's lighter in texture and naturally sweeter than regular whole wheat) and all natural PB. Husband couldn't tell these cookies were 100% whole grain and gobbled them right up. I chilled the dough for a few hours, and instead of forming balls, I just used a medium cookie scoop to get uniform-sized rounded mounds in the fraction of the time. I dropped the mounds into regular muffin tins because that's all I had, but they still came out looking great. I did have to cook them 3 min longer though because I made them larger than what the recipe called for. Don't make the mistake of cooking them too long (recipe is right on unless you make your cookies bigger). The dough should be soft when you take it out. The first time I made this, I baked them too long (waited for them to turn golden), and they were dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
These cookies were EXCELLENT! i test most of my recipies on my sister and my boyfriend and they both LOVED THEM! They both keep begging me to make more. i followed the recipe exactly, however instead of putting the batter into muffin cups i simply rounded the dough and put them on the cookie sheet and pressed the reeses cups into them immediatly after taking them out of the oven! worked extremely well! LOVE IT:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DesiLuGirl
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
By far THE BEST cookie!!! If you like peanut butter, if you like chocolate, if you just like sweets period this cookie is for you!! The dough is just soo chewy and perfect and the peanut butter cup just tops it off!! I did however have to bake the cookie 10 minutes and not 8. I also didn't have a mini muffin pan and I forgot to buy the mini cupcake paper so I just had to use my baking sheet! Still came out great! This is one I will DEFINATELY be making over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesiLuGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Combine chewy cookies with peanut butter cups for a real treat.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States