Peanut Butter Cup Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I made these for a church event and the went so fast everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I didn't have graham crackers so I doubled the recipe and made 2 peanut butter pies using two graham cracker crusts that I already had instead. I covered the top of one with white chocolate and the other with chocolate. The whole family really liked this, and I love the easiness of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I really like this recipe. I like the crunch of the graham cracker bottom which was incredibly simple to do, especially since I always have graham crackers on hand, but not graham cracker crumbs. I took the advice of a couple of reviewers since it was a repeating concern that they cracked while cutting: #1 I stirred in about 3-4 T of peanut butter into the chocolate to melt together in the microwave which made the crust not so brittle, and #2 I cut it with a pizza cutter which worked famously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Have been making these yummy bars for years. If your chocolate shatters or cracks during cutting, try heating your knife with hot water (and drying the blade)before cutting the bars. Use the tip of the knife to score the bars before cutting straight through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was so good! I used creamy peanut butter because I don't like crunchy. But very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
These are the BEST bars I have ever had! Can I give these 100 stars? The peanut butter filling is really the show stopper. I used creamy instead of chunky peanut butter and it had a fabulous texture. Very sweet, very rich, and very peanuty. It seems lots of similar recipes lose one of those features but this had all three. I also liked the semisweet chocolate instead of milk chocolate used in many chocolate/peanut butter recipes, it was a richer taste and had better contrast with the peanut butter. Lastly, I really liked the crunch of the whole graham crackers for the crust -- it reminded me a little of Peanut Butter Twix. You'd lose that if you used the graham cracker crumb crust mentioned by many reviewers. When cutting it might help to cut while the chocolate is warm and also cut along the cracker divisions if possible. Also, I increased the recipe by 50% and it fit perfectly on a cookie sheet with 15 whole crackers (didn't have the jelly roll pan mentioned). Plus more bars for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made these years ago, but had forgotten! They're excellent! I had no problems whatsoever, but for those who had trouble 'cuz the peanut butter didn't spread easily, you could use creamy p-butter and grind up a few salted peanuts and sprinkle over the top of the whole thing..problem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are delicious and very easy to make. My problem was the chocolate layer cracked on every piece when cut, so they didn't look too pretty. Next time I may add a tablespoon of peanut butter to the chocolate while melting it, this should make a softer texture thus easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wow, these are great, and sooo sweet. I usually don't like it when people modify recipes, but I did it this time myself, by making a chocolate graham cracker crust, instead of using regular graham crackers (really because when my sons and I went to the grocery store, my sons were asking for so many things and I kept saying no, no ,no, because they had gotten things earlier in the week, so I was trying to get out of there as quickly as possible-thus no crackers) but I did have the chocolate ones at home. Well anyway, all the peanut butter lovers I had try this, loved it! A real winner. I also used loe fat peanut butter, but after everything else that we put in these I thought, hummm....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very easy, quick & delicious. I know it's probably not worth it, but I did mix ground flax seed into the peanut butter, giving it just a wee bit of healthy stuff. It mixed in perfectly, kids can't even tell it's there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Combine chewy cookies with peanut butter cups for a real treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States