Peanut Butter Cup Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
These are the BEST bars I have ever had! Can I give these 100 stars? The peanut butter filling is really the show stopper. I used creamy instead of chunky peanut butter and it had a fabulous texture. Very sweet, very rich, and very peanuty. It seems lots of similar recipes lose one of those features but this had all three. I also liked the semisweet chocolate instead of milk chocolate used in many chocolate/peanut butter recipes, it was a richer taste and had better contrast with the peanut butter. Lastly, I really liked the crunch of the whole graham crackers for the crust -- it reminded me a little of Peanut Butter Twix. You'd lose that if you used the graham cracker crumb crust mentioned by many reviewers. When cutting it might help to cut while the chocolate is warm and also cut along the cracker divisions if possible. Also, I increased the recipe by 50% and it fit perfectly on a cookie sheet with 15 whole crackers (didn't have the jelly roll pan mentioned). Plus more bars for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made these years ago, but had forgotten! They're excellent! I had no problems whatsoever, but for those who had trouble 'cuz the peanut butter didn't spread easily, you could use creamy p-butter and grind up a few salted peanuts and sprinkle over the top of the whole thing..problem solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are delicious and very easy to make. My problem was the chocolate layer cracked on every piece when cut, so they didn't look too pretty. Next time I may add a tablespoon of peanut butter to the chocolate while melting it, this should make a softer texture thus easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Wow, these are great, and sooo sweet. I usually don't like it when people modify recipes, but I did it this time myself, by making a chocolate graham cracker crust, instead of using regular graham crackers (really because when my sons and I went to the grocery store, my sons were asking for so many things and I kept saying no, no ,no, because they had gotten things earlier in the week, so I was trying to get out of there as quickly as possible-thus no crackers) but I did have the chocolate ones at home. Well anyway, all the peanut butter lovers I had try this, loved it! A real winner. I also used loe fat peanut butter, but after everything else that we put in these I thought, hummm....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Very easy, quick & delicious. I know it's probably not worth it, but I did mix ground flax seed into the peanut butter, giving it just a wee bit of healthy stuff. It mixed in perfectly, kids can't even tell it's there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
These are so simple and so yummy. I had to add a little more powdered sugar because the peanut butter mixture was too creamy and I was afraid it wouldn't set up on the graham crackers. I ended up adding an addition 1/2 cup and it worked great. They were a huge hit and so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These were awesome! I even had to improvise when I didn't have enough graham crackers and had to use part crushed up Vanilla wafers. It must have worked, because they turned out great & tasted great. I will us all Graham next time to see the difference if any... but it worked! They freeze well and were a hit at our housewarming party! YUM! Can't wait to make them for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurieLou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These were excellent. Peanut butter cup fans will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
These are excellent bars. They take more than 10 graham crackers to cover the bottom of the pan, and I would suggest using a pizza wheel to cut them. I didn't have any of the problems other reviews mentioned. They took next to no time to make and were FANTASTIC. I used only organic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
wow wow wee wow! I didn't have any graham crackers so I just left the whole crust part out. Maybe next time I'll try a layer of crackers, chocolate, then peanut butter and chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States