Peanut Butter Cornflake Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Unfortunately, I did listen to the reviewers. I doubled everything but the cornflakes. It was just way too much sweet. It was like one big sugary brick. I will opt to do it exactly like the recipe next time hoping to keep more of the cereal shape and flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This rates a 5+ for being something so good but easy to mix up. Adults love them too...a hit at cookouts. I do change the recipe slightly by using only 8 cups of corn flakes. I cut back on the white sugar to about 3/4 cup and boil the sugar/syrup mixture for a minute before adding the pnut butter. Also add 1/2 tsp vanilla. I mix semi-sweet chocolate chips and a little milk to make a glaze to drizzle on top of the warm bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Exactly the recipe I was looking for! I just finished making some and as a variation, put some chocolate chips in the bottom of pan before spreading the peanut butter/corn flake mix onto it. The heat melts the chips and they fuse onto the bars. Yum, chocolate and peanut butter. I learned to make these in a high school cooking class and loved them. All I could remember after all these years was 1 cup of peanut butter and 1 cup corn syrup. I thought it was for 5 cups of corn flakes...and 1/2 cup sugar...so glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnotGypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Very greasy. Sorry we didn't like these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedChowDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sevenoaks, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe made the bars just like the way I knew them as a kid. I made them and sent some home with my son to his brother and his wife. We ate them, their friends ate them. My husband wanted to know how soon I could make more since they were gone in two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were great. For a fun variation, melt chocolate chips and spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I doubled the corn syrup,sugar and peanut butter, and it turned out perfect. a friend of mine's mom made these one time and i loved them. but didnt know how to make them. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Nice and easy recipe...was wondering if the syrup can b substituted for apple sauce..?hmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Very, very good! I mixed in toasted, lightly salted peanuts. They were a major hit! Oh, and as others have said: DEFINITELY half the cornflakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My recipe is similar except it calls for 1 stick of butter added to the the sugar and syrup mixture and cooking for 2 minutes. You begin timing the 2 minutes after it is at a full rolling boil. I think you have to cook it longer because of the butter. I've never had it fail to come out as a perfect combination of chewy and crunchy. Great recipe, but highly addictive. It is hard to stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States