Peanut Butter Cornflake Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
yummy! I melted choc chips and poured over it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
My grandma made these all the time when I was little and would form them into haystacks and call them "Witch's Haystacks" :) She still makes me them now and again for treats around birthdays/holidays, but now I can make 'em myself! I, after reading the reviews, made sure to put only 7 cups of cornflakes in -- worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mai
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Instead of 10c cornflakes, I used 5c of Rice Krispy cereal, and I think it was the perfect amount--it came out gooey and rich. I have always made the marshmallow version, but this is just as delicious. Thanks for a great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is a great recipe, except my memories of this bar from the middle school cafeteria has a chocolate topping. I use 6 cups of Special K cereal instead of corn flakes (its rice cereal, so the consistency is more like rice crispy treats). After pressing into a pan, melt 1 cup chocolate chips and 1 cup butterscotch chips and spread on top! Very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I grew up on this recipe and couldn't find my mother's. So happy to find it on here! I made it exactly as written. The cornflakes may look dry at first but as long as you mixed it well they should taste fine. I wouldn't recommend lowering the amt of cornflakes, then it would be too gooey. Great snack for a night you have a craving! So esay to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Just like I remember as a kid! I followed some reviews and uses 8 cups of cereal to make it less dry. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Franklin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I love this recipe! It's something my grandmother would make when we were little. I agree the cornflakes should be reduced from 10 to 7-8 cups. Also, at christmastime, after forming the cookies or spreading it out to be cut into bars, I put red & green MnMs on top!! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Great flavor and so easy to make! I made them into drop cookies. My uncle couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I've made this recipe for years (it was my mom's)and I agree with others that this has too much cereal. I add only 6 cups and it's perfect every time. I've even tried this with Flax Flakes or a combo of Flax and other cereal, for a great sport energy treat and the team loves them! Adding crushed peanuts is also yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Thanks! This recipe brings back elementary school memories! I used crunchy SunButter (a peanut butter alternative made completely from sunflower seeds). Also, I did take others' suggestions to use only 8 cups of corn flakes. Came out great!!!!! Next time - I will try the maple peanut butter I found at my local store! Oh - to the Canadian reviewer living in the UK who said these came out too "greasy".....I found when living in the UK for almost 10 years that many British products - peanut butter and chocolate included - had a lot more oil than their American counterparts! So - don't blame the recipe!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States