Peanut Butter Cornflake Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Mmmmm.... so good! These are just like the ones my mom made for me as a kid! I only used seven cups of cornflakes and they turned out perfectly! I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
So yummy! I followed the recipe as written, not having read the reviews before I made it. I thought it was delicious with the full amount of cornflakes, but I guess I'll have to try them again with less to compare. They taste great, but I want to try forming them into balls next time to see if they look a little more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieChic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are so awesome and just what I was looking for. They are like a scotcheroo with cornflakes instead of rice krispies. I followed other peoples advice and only used 7-8 cups of cornflakes. I think they would be great plain but I did melt 1 cup peanut butter chips and 1 cup chocolate chips and spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajbrumbaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My family loves this recipe. My husband is an avid peanut butter lover, so I always add at LEAST a 1/2 cup more peanut butter than the recipe calls for. I personally prefer crunchy pb in this, but hubby doesn't like the texture of the peanuts so I almost always do this recipe with smooth pb. I doubled the recipe (only did 16 cups of cornflakes, breaking them down with my hands while they were in the bowl), and substituted half of the corn syrup with honey (1 cup corn syrup, 1 cup honey). I cut down on the sugar, only adding 1 1/2 cups instead of a full 2 cups because of the sweetness of the honey. Did about 3 cups of pb this time around. SUPERB! I've made this a few times, and this was by far the best I've ever done it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This candy was served as a dessert when I was in elementary school. The one I have is a little different. It's 1 cup of light corn syrup, 1/2 cup of granulated sugar, 5 cups of finely crushed cornflakes and 3/4 cup of peanut butter. You bring the syrup and sugar to a boil for exactly 1 minute, remove from heat, stir in the peanut butter then the cereal. Spread into a greased 8X8 inch pan. Candy should be chewy, slightly firmer than caramel and not hard. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liv_baldwin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Grew up with these bars. They are awesome. I melted some chocolate chips and spread on top. makes them even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
If your kids are anything like mine they eat cereal until there's 1/4 a bag left then on to a new flavor. What I do is throw all these 1/4 bags into the bowl add some oatmeal and fruit & nut trailmix enough to equal about 10 cups. After everything is set, I cut these up into bars and wrap them individually in plastic wrap. I store them in the fridge & have home made "granola/cereal" bars for snacks. My teens & husband LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Amazing! So easy and a huge hit, will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
excellent classic recipe...same as my grandmother's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I halved this recipe (except for the peanut butter) and they were great! I kept the peanut butter the same per personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States