Peanut Butter Cookies from the Forties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I did add 1/4 cup more PB as a previous reviewer stated they would do. The recipe was a little confusing because it says to beat IN the egg, etc, and then add it to the bowl of creamy PB mixture. I slowly added the dry into the wet and also did add just a splash of vanilla. I thought these were GREAT. They had that softness but at the same time a little crunchy and the texture was just what I like in a PB cookie. Melt in your mouth. Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is the exact recipe I was looking for. Brings back many fond memories of not only eating them but making them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Terrible and dry. 10 minutes=burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
They came out nice and soft, but bland and salty. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justsmilestevie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These werent totally awful..but I thought they were much too crumbly and certainly not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
These get a middling rating because, like another reviewer, I found them to be way too crumbly - fragile, in fact. The taste was pretty good, but somewhat mild. I did give a few of the best ones to The Woman I Love, and she thought they were great. On the plus side, these are quick and easy to make. I was in a hurry and didn't mix the wet and dry ingredients exactly as given, so hopefully that didn't affect my results; I did use all the correct ingredients and amounts, though. This made two batches for me. For the second batch, I used a greased (with butter-flavored cooking spray) cookie sheet, which was a mistake, as the cookies burned a bit. The ungreased, non-stick cookie sheet I used for my first batch worked best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Not bad, but too crumbly. I rolled mine in sugar, and still too plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
It's an ok recipe, but it's a bit dry which overpowers the peanut butter taste. I would make them again, but I would probably increase the peanut butter by a 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
pretty good, not too sweet, I did roll balls into chopped cocktail peanuts which added a salty note...I'll make them again for sure, maybe add sugar to the chopped nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States