Peanut Butter Cookies from the Forties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I did add 1/4 cup more PB as a previous reviewer stated they would do. The recipe was a little confusing because it says to beat IN the egg, etc, and then add it to the bowl of creamy PB mixture. I slowly added the dry into the wet and also did add just a splash of vanilla. I thought these were GREAT. They had that softness but at the same time a little crunchy and the texture was just what I like in a PB cookie. Melt in your mouth. Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
pretty good, not too sweet, I did roll balls into chopped cocktail peanuts which added a salty note...I'll make them again for sure, maybe add sugar to the chopped nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is the exact recipe I was looking for. Brings back many fond memories of not only eating them but making them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Not bad, but too crumbly. I rolled mine in sugar, and still too plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
These get a middling rating because, like another reviewer, I found them to be way too crumbly - fragile, in fact. The taste was pretty good, but somewhat mild. I did give a few of the best ones to The Woman I Love, and she thought they were great. On the plus side, these are quick and easy to make. I was in a hurry and didn't mix the wet and dry ingredients exactly as given, so hopefully that didn't affect my results; I did use all the correct ingredients and amounts, though. This made two batches for me. For the second batch, I used a greased (with butter-flavored cooking spray) cookie sheet, which was a mistake, as the cookies burned a bit. The ungreased, non-stick cookie sheet I used for my first batch worked best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
It's an ok recipe, but it's a bit dry which overpowers the peanut butter taste. I would make them again, but I would probably increase the peanut butter by a 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These werent totally awful..but I thought they were much too crumbly and certainly not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
They came out nice and soft, but bland and salty. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justsmilestevie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Terrible and dry. 10 minutes=burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States