Peanut Butter Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I also thought the mix was a little crumbly, however, I just added a 1/4 c. more PB and they turned out great!! Baked for 9 minutes and they were nice and chewy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I used butter instead of shortening. The cookies turned out well. Not very peanut buttery, I would recommend using more peanut butter than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alison B
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Great cookie. I wanted peanut butter cookies but had no butter, so I chose this since it used shortening. These have a mild peanut butter taste, so if you are looking for peanut butter overload, look elsewhere. I halfed all of the ingredients, and it ended up yielding 18 decent sized cookies. I lined my cookie sheet with parchment and 9 minutes was perfect for these. A nice soft and chewy cookie - not sure what the other reviewers are doing wrong to end up with dry cookies. This is a simple, fast and delicious recipe. I sprinkled them with a bit of sugar as soon as I took them out of the oven. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
i loved this recipe its ez and the cookies look great! (taste good too) i didnt use grease on the pan i used wax paper then lightly sprayed it with PAM>the bottoms were beeeeutiful! i love peanut butter cookies and these are some of the BEST.thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I, too, had a problem with crumbly dough. I switched up 1/2 a cup of the white sugar for 1/2 cup of dark brown and it made them extremely moist, even after sitting out all night. I also added the extra 1/4 cup of peanut butter that several reviewers recommended adding. I am not a peanut butter fan, that would be my husband's department and he completely loved these, he said they were better than his mother's and that's a super hard act to follow. I like the fact that these only make around 2 dozen...with only 2 of us, things have a tendancy to go stale before they all get eaten. I will be using this as my peanut butter cookie recipe from now on. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I was so disappointed with this recipe. Much like some of the other reviewers, whose comments I should have read, first, I added butter, milk, and more peanut butter trying to make these cookies suitably moist to no avail. They were dry and crumbly and I could taste the shortening in the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I disagree with all the negative reviews of this cookie - I thought it was pretty dang good, actually. It was sugary/buttery and had just the right amount of peanut butter taste mixed it. (If you're looking for A LOT of peanut butter taste - this cookie isn't for you.)My cookie mixture had no trouble with moisture, it mixed up perfectly with the directions provided.. so.. I dunno why mine was great and others had problems.. but there you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I made these cookies today and my family loved them I used the crisco butter sticks and I really creamed together the shortening and the peanut butter with the sugar until it was light in color then I went along with the rest of the recipe and my cookies turned out great. I didn't get the crumble that others have stated and my cookies was soft. I really think you need to know your stove and pull your cookies a little before they are done because they are still cooking while they are on the cookie sheet when you remove them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE725

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I had no problem with the dough being dry, possibly because the eggs I used were extra large. I've also learned to take cookies like these out of the oven a bit earlier than called for if I want them to be soft when cool. I had some giant chocolate chips on hand and pressed a couple into the centers instead of flattening with a fork, and my family loved that! Excellent recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Extremely easy and mouthwateringly DELICIOUS! I had to hide them or they would have been gone in 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States