Peanut Butter Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I also thought the mix was a little crumbly, however, I just added a 1/4 c. more PB and they turned out great!! Baked for 9 minutes and they were nice and chewy. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I used butter instead of shortening. The cookies turned out well. Not very peanut buttery, I would recommend using more peanut butter than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alison B
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Great cookie. I wanted peanut butter cookies but had no butter, so I chose this since it used shortening. These have a mild peanut butter taste, so if you are looking for peanut butter overload, look elsewhere. I halfed all of the ingredients, and it ended up yielding 18 decent sized cookies. I lined my cookie sheet with parchment and 9 minutes was perfect for these. A nice soft and chewy cookie - not sure what the other reviewers are doing wrong to end up with dry cookies. This is a simple, fast and delicious recipe. I sprinkled them with a bit of sugar as soon as I took them out of the oven. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
i loved this recipe its ez and the cookies look great! (taste good too) i didnt use grease on the pan i used wax paper then lightly sprayed it with PAM>the bottoms were beeeeutiful! i love peanut butter cookies and these are some of the BEST.thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I, too, had a problem with crumbly dough. I switched up 1/2 a cup of the white sugar for 1/2 cup of dark brown and it made them extremely moist, even after sitting out all night. I also added the extra 1/4 cup of peanut butter that several reviewers recommended adding. I am not a peanut butter fan, that would be my husband's department and he completely loved these, he said they were better than his mother's and that's a super hard act to follow. I like the fact that these only make around 2 dozen...with only 2 of us, things have a tendancy to go stale before they all get eaten. I will be using this as my peanut butter cookie recipe from now on. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I was so disappointed with this recipe. Much like some of the other reviewers, whose comments I should have read, first, I added butter, milk, and more peanut butter trying to make these cookies suitably moist to no avail. They were dry and crumbly and I could taste the shortening in the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I disagree with all the negative reviews of this cookie - I thought it was pretty dang good, actually. It was sugary/buttery and had just the right amount of peanut butter taste mixed it. (If you're looking for A LOT of peanut butter taste - this cookie isn't for you.)My cookie mixture had no trouble with moisture, it mixed up perfectly with the directions provided.. so.. I dunno why mine was great and others had problems.. but there you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I made these cookies today and my family loved them I used the crisco butter sticks and I really creamed together the shortening and the peanut butter with the sugar until it was light in color then I went along with the rest of the recipe and my cookies turned out great. I didn't get the crumble that others have stated and my cookies was soft. I really think you need to know your stove and pull your cookies a little before they are done because they are still cooking while they are on the cookie sheet when you remove them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE725

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I had no problem with the dough being dry, possibly because the eggs I used were extra large. I've also learned to take cookies like these out of the oven a bit earlier than called for if I want them to be soft when cool. I had some giant chocolate chips on hand and pressed a couple into the centers instead of flattening with a fork, and my family loved that! Excellent recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Extremely easy and mouthwateringly DELICIOUS! I had to hide them or they would have been gone in 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States