Peanut Butter Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I can see why all the debate on this recipe. This is definately a light, dry version of the cookie. If you want soft and chewy, this is not for you. Overall I think they turned out excellent. I used Crisco butter sticks for my shortening, and sprayed my sheets with Pam. Other than that, made exactly to the recipe. Give them a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrehere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
After reading all the reviews I made the following changes. I pulsed nuts in my mini processor to a fine powder to increase the peanut taste and replaced 1/4 cup of the flour with it. And since I always have Jumbo eggs on hand for Sunday breakfast, I used that instead of the regular Large. Moisture and taste problems solved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I wish i read the reviews first!!!!! The cookies tasted fine but they were really messy to make and eat!!! crumbs ALL OVER!!!! really dry and hard to form. needed more moisture, maybe more PB????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I teach high school Foods classes. I gave this recipe to 2 of my advanced kitchens to test. We followed the recipe exactly. The batches turned out identical - a slightly dry, crumbly dough which was somewhat difficult to work with,but baking up to be very tasty cookies that the students did like a lot. The edges of the baked cookies crumbled a bit. I believe I will try adding 2-3 Tbsp. of milk next time, or possibly a bit more PB (although this would alter the taste). Thanks for a good cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I added an extra egg and another 1/2 cup peanut butter. Though very delicate, they tasted wonderful. Will try putting some chocolate chips or a choc. chunk in the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is a very goog recipe.My family loves these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I think this is the best peanut butter cookie recipe ever! I suppose I just like mine drier and more crumbly than others. I always get rave reviews on these cookies, and I think it's because of the shortening (I use Crisco Butter Flavored sticks). Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I disagree with all the negative reviews of this cookie - I thought it was pretty dang good, actually. It was sugary/buttery and had just the right amount of peanut butter taste mixed it. (If you're looking for A LOT of peanut butter taste - this cookie isn't for you.)My cookie mixture had no trouble with moisture, it mixed up perfectly with the directions provided.. so.. I dunno why mine was great and others had problems.. but there you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I used butter instead of shortening. The cookies turned out well. Not very peanut buttery, I would recommend using more peanut butter than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I doubled the recipe and when I got to about 2 1/3 C. flour, I abandoned the spoon and worked the dough with my hands. I was worried about them being too crumbly but the heat from my hands seemed to do the trick. Because of this, this would be a great recipe to do with kids.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States