Peanut Butter Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I, too, had a problem with crumbly dough. I switched up 1/2 a cup of the white sugar for 1/2 cup of dark brown and it made them extremely moist, even after sitting out all night. I also added the extra 1/4 cup of peanut butter that several reviewers recommended adding. I am not a peanut butter fan, that would be my husband's department and he completely loved these, he said they were better than his mother's and that's a super hard act to follow. I like the fact that these only make around 2 dozen...with only 2 of us, things have a tendancy to go stale before they all get eaten. I will be using this as my peanut butter cookie recipe from now on. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a great cookie. I added and additional 1/8 cup of shortening because my mixture seemed to be too crumbly. Next time I would add more peanut butter instead of more shortening to get more peanut flavor. I used the butter flavored Crisco to give it a more buttery taste. Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mcgregor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This cookie turned out great, however, personally, I might back off on the sugar. My 13-year-old daughter and my mother in law, both sweet freaks, loved this cookie. I am developing a different palate and thought the cookie was a bit sweet. The composition of the cookie turned out fine. I do admit though, my Kitchen Aide always makes fine batter. My wife told me to use the paddle attachment when making a batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great recipe. I doubled up on the peanut butter. Request of a freind. Thank You, Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I think I will try another recipe this one was not what I expected a little to dry for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I gave this recipe 4 stars because of the texture- these are chewy soft peanut butter cookies! Next time I will definitely add a bit more peanut butter because I didn't think they were quite peanut buttery enough- but I will definitely use this recipe from now on with only that modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. The batter was far too crumbly and the cookies baked up on the hard side. The second batch I altered the ingredients so that I used 1/4 cup less flower and I split the sugar so that I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. This made the cookies more enjoyable...although I think the peanut butter needs to be increased as well. Simply put, start from a better recipe and skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Add a couple of salted peanuts on top and you get that sweet and salty taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reatherborwick@hotmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
These were fantastic. Not sure why others had such a problem with them being dry. Mine came out moist and delicious. The only thing I did different was used no salt added peanut butter but I added a 1/4 tsp extra of salt to compensate. Thanks for a great easy recipe Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
These were excellent!! My husband is very picky but he loved these. Him and my son gobbled these up. If you like a lot of PB in your cookies then you should add a little more than the recipe calls for but I thought the amount was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States