Peanut Butter Cookies IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Great cookie! I followed the suggestion of others and cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup each for the brown and white sugars, increased the vanilla, added an extra egg, and increased the peanut butter to one cup and it was great. I also baked for about 10-11 minutes and they came out perfect and didn't crumble at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These were very tasty and everyone liked them. My only problem with them was when I was making them, it was really difficult for the dough to stay together. It kept falling apart and was in pieces. Anyone have any advice on what I could do differently next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
My husband likes 3 kinds of cookies, so I looked on ingredient search for a recipe that incorporates all 3: peanut butter, oatmeal, and chocolate chip. I made the recipe as stated except I did not have WW flour so used AP, I had old fashioned oats & chopped them up a little in the food processor; I added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/4 teaspoon almond extract (a tip from Yummy Peanut Butter Cookies, this site), and 1/2 t cinnamon. Just like What A Dish says in her review, they are soft but crisp on the outside. My husband rated these a 5 and asked for me to make them again. Great cookies Laurie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is the best peanut butter cookie I have ever tasted! I am a purist and like it even better without the chocolate chips. I wanted the cookies a bit larger and made only about 2 1/2 dozen, increasing the baking time to 10 minutes. I think the cookies should be rolled into balls and pressed with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I had to package these up and drive them to my husband's work so I wouldn't eat them all. I made them exactly as the recipe indicated and wouldn't change a thing! These are AWESOME! The oatmeal adds texture, the peanut butter is a wonderful twist and the chocolate is always a plus! I love these and will doubtless make them time and time again. Thanks for a no-fail pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Good cookies! I, too, cut down on the sugar to only 1/2 cup each. I also used 1/2 cup white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour. I used natural no-sugar peanut butter. I loved the texture of these! Soft but crisp enough on the outside. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Great cookies! Be sure to use regular oats, not quick. I might try a little less white sugar next time. Also, be sure to leave them on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before removing- I only waited 1 minute & they fell apart. I also used mini kisses. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I was disappointed the first time I made these cookies. Working with the dough was a sticky mess and I ended up with extremely crumbly cookie dough. Moreover, the cookies did not flatten and only tasted so-so. But the second time I made them, I used cookie dough that had been refridgered for several days. Since last time they hadn't flattened, I shaped the dough into flat cookie shapes instead of balls and baked them for about 20 minutes in a toaster oven. The results were fantastic cookies that were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside with a smooth peanut buttery flavor all over. Per other reviewers advice, I did make some modifications to the recipe. I omitted the wheat flour and upped the all-purpose flour to 1 cup. I decreased the white sugar to 1/2 cup and used natural peanut butter sweetened with honey. I pulverized the oats too and used vanilla sugar instead of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Best PB cookie I've tried yet - will be doing for my cookie swap. Only difference I made was using all white flour and they came out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I had to modify the recipe a bit. It would of been helpful if others would say how much to decrease the sugar to. I decided to only add a 1/2 cup of each sugar and I added an extra 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour. The results were wonderful. I baked for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. This is a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States