Peanut Butter Cookies IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Great cookie! I followed the suggestion of others and cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup each for the brown and white sugars, increased the vanilla, added an extra egg, and increased the peanut butter to one cup and it was great. I also baked for about 10-11 minutes and they came out perfect and didn't crumble at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These were very tasty and everyone liked them. My only problem with them was when I was making them, it was really difficult for the dough to stay together. It kept falling apart and was in pieces. Anyone have any advice on what I could do differently next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
My husband likes 3 kinds of cookies, so I looked on ingredient search for a recipe that incorporates all 3: peanut butter, oatmeal, and chocolate chip. I made the recipe as stated except I did not have WW flour so used AP, I had old fashioned oats & chopped them up a little in the food processor; I added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/4 teaspoon almond extract (a tip from Yummy Peanut Butter Cookies, this site), and 1/2 t cinnamon. Just like What A Dish says in her review, they are soft but crisp on the outside. My husband rated these a 5 and asked for me to make them again. Great cookies Laurie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is the best peanut butter cookie I have ever tasted! I am a purist and like it even better without the chocolate chips. I wanted the cookies a bit larger and made only about 2 1/2 dozen, increasing the baking time to 10 minutes. I think the cookies should be rolled into balls and pressed with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I had to package these up and drive them to my husband's work so I wouldn't eat them all. I made them exactly as the recipe indicated and wouldn't change a thing! These are AWESOME! The oatmeal adds texture, the peanut butter is a wonderful twist and the chocolate is always a plus! I love these and will doubtless make them time and time again. Thanks for a no-fail pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Good cookies! I, too, cut down on the sugar to only 1/2 cup each. I also used 1/2 cup white flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour. I used natural no-sugar peanut butter. I loved the texture of these! Soft but crisp enough on the outside. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Great cookies! Be sure to use regular oats, not quick. I might try a little less white sugar next time. Also, be sure to leave them on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before removing- I only waited 1 minute & they fell apart. I also used mini kisses. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I was disappointed the first time I made these cookies. Working with the dough was a sticky mess and I ended up with extremely crumbly cookie dough. Moreover, the cookies did not flatten and only tasted so-so. But the second time I made them, I used cookie dough that had been refridgered for several days. Since last time they hadn't flattened, I shaped the dough into flat cookie shapes instead of balls and baked them for about 20 minutes in a toaster oven. The results were fantastic cookies that were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside with a smooth peanut buttery flavor all over. Per other reviewers advice, I did make some modifications to the recipe. I omitted the wheat flour and upped the all-purpose flour to 1 cup. I decreased the white sugar to 1/2 cup and used natural peanut butter sweetened with honey. I pulverized the oats too and used vanilla sugar instead of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Best PB cookie I've tried yet - will be doing for my cookie swap. Only difference I made was using all white flour and they came out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I had to modify the recipe a bit. It would of been helpful if others would say how much to decrease the sugar to. I decided to only add a 1/2 cup of each sugar and I added an extra 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour. The results were wonderful. I baked for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. This is a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States