Peanut Butter Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Like Breakfastbelle and Love2eat, I too was looking for that LAUSD peanut butter coffee cake that I had as a kid in the 70s. I have looked everywhere online for that recipe, and now that LAUSD school kitchens only heat food and no longer cook their own, that recipe is lost to the wind. This is similar, but not as good. I did use natural peanut butter, and it was tasty, but I'm not sure how different the end result is when using Jif, which I've never tried. Maybe I'll add some more salt next time and trade out the shortening for butter, since it's flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I think this coffee cake is just right for a breakfast item. It's not too rich with just the right peanut butter flavor. I made a half recipe in a loaf pan - I was short on eggs. It was great and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
very good I used margarine instead of shortening.....everyone loved it it is defineately a keeper for me!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I was looking for something simple and use the items I had in my home. I used the crunchy peanut butter and maybe that was my mistake. I was disappointed. It was very dry. I melted chocolate chips and drizzled it over the top which tasted great but cake part just to dry. Throwing this recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Very good coffee cake, good peanut butter flavor. I've made the cake a couple of times. I made the following changes: I used 1/4 canola oil instead of CRISCO and I used 1 TBL margarine and 1 TBL canola oil in the topping, instead of all margarine. I baked the cake at 350 degrees instead of 375. This cake, like most coffee cakes, could be easily overbaked and become dry. I watch the cake very closely towards the end of baking to make sure it doesn't overbake. The family liked it best re-heated for a few seconds in the microwave. I plan to cut the cake into pieces and put in the freezer to be eaten as a quick breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I am a BIG peanut butter fan so I am always trying new PB recipes. But I must say I was very disappointed in this one. I found it very dry and crumbly. I will not be making this one again. Sorry JIF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeeKum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
As a peanut butter lover, I really love this coffee cake. Moist and light, but not falling apart. The only changes I made was cut down sugar by half, used about 2 tbsp LESS butter (I used butter instead of shortening), added about 1 tbsp of vinegar and 1 tsp of vanilla, and added at least 1/4 more peanut butter to the cake. I melted (not completely) the peanut butter with butter first and then beat using hand mixer with sugar and egg. Then I mixed the rest BY HAND. Oh and for topping I used half flour and half quick oats. When fresh out of oven, the peanut butter taste is very mild you wish you had put more, but the next day (I'm eating it as I'm writing this) there's defniitely more peanut butter taste. I would make it again and again! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made this today,and,it turned out amazing!. Full of Peanut Butter flavor..The topping was good,but,I added a few chocolate chips to mine..Just like eating a Reeses Peanut Butter Cup..If you are a fan of Peanut Butter,this recipe is for you..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randym86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I was excited to try this recipe b/c it was rated well. I did not care for it. I'm still looking for that perfect peanut butter cake...maybe something more moist, sweeter, w/ more peanut butter flavor. My kids wouldn't eat it...and they eat just about all cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is wonderful! I just took it out of the oven and it is almost gone! I made a few changes, I used margarine instead of shortening and Adams Natural peanutbutter. I think it has a great peanut flavor, almost like a soft peanut butter cookie. I really like the topping, gives it something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

JIF(R) Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make classic peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States