Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Skippy Aveo
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
WOW! A darn near perfect recipe Barb. Thank you. I usually read through the reviews to see if there is an overwhelming concensus on an addition or a subtraction with a recipe on this site. Y'know hints and whatnot since so many of you are excellent cooks and bakers. This recipe I did the same, except most everyone seemed to be in agreement that this was a great recipe as written. Sure some used bigger chips or different peanut butter, but that is personal preference. Mine had a different baking time, but that is only because my oven is old and cranky. For Barb's cookies just about everyone got the same, wonderful cookie everytime! Oh, and when 85 of 95 reviews liked/loved this recipe I wouldn't call that "mixed reviews" as one person said. I would say that would be an overwhelming "YES! MAKE THESE." These cookies are really, really good. The recipe is easy and simple to follow. If you do exactly as Barb says you too will have delicious peanut butter chocolate chip cookies in under an hour. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skippy Aveo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These are good cookies, but I found them to be a little temperamental about the time. I had to stick them back in the oven for a few minutes, but was afraid I would overcook them. They came out a little bit underdone for my taste, and I usually like my cookies a bit "doughy". I might also try regular sized chocolate chips. The mini chocolate chips sounded like a good idea, but I felt the chocolate flavor was kind of lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I was not happy with these at all. The dough was soft so I already had concerns, but given the mixed reviews I chose to plod on and follow the recipe with no changes other than to chill the dough overnight. The result was a cookie that was so soft it had little structure to support it once it was picked up - as others experienced, it fell apart into pieces, pieces that were too fatty and not sweet enough. I compared this recipe to a similar recipe I loved, with a 2:1 ratio of peanut butter to butter - and what I found explains what went wrong with this recipe. It needs 2 T. more of both brown sugar and white sugar, which explains why these cookies were not sweet enough. The recipe needs more flour, maybe 1/4 cup, which explains why they were too fatty (I'd almost call them kind of soggy) and had so little structure. In the end, while I liked the double amount of peanut butter to butter, this pretty much fell apart after that - pun intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made the recipe just as it is written, except I used regular chocolate chips because that is what I had. Very delicious! I highly recommend. I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My favorite peanut butter cookie recipe!!! Easy, and delicious...cooking time will vary depending on your oven...but they come out perfect every time....my friends rave about these cookies, and I am making them again this year...I use dark chocolate in them..and sometimes m & m's there awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I tripled this recipe and got 90 med-lrg cookies. I used reg crunchy pb and reg milk choc chips. I used 1 cup margarine and 1/2 cup shortening. Butter is too expensive right now! I baked them for 10-11 minutes and cooled on the pan for a few. These are super yummy! They do fall apart easy when hot, but after they have cooled they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
yummy!! The taste reminds me of Reese's Peanut Butter Cups!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milo1898
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Cookies are delicious! They have a very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I will definitely use this recipe again, but will tweek it some...cookie dough was too gooey and cookies fell apart easily. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I also doubled the recipe and added 1/2 cup peanut butter. These were excellent cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States