Peanut Butter Chip Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I've been looking for a good chocolate cookie base recipe and finally found it with this! I substituted the peanut butter chips for coarsley chopped Andes Mints candies (I've been looking for an excuse to use them) and they were to die for! Followed the rest of the recipe just about exactly (other than cutting back on the sugar just slightly). I baked them for 9 minutes, then finished with my "perfect cookie trick" by removing them from the oven, then dropping the pan from about 8" in the air onto the hard countertop (Seriously! Try this!), and letting them continue-cook on the hot cookie sheet for another 2 minutes before removing them to a wire rack to cool. They were crispy on the outside, moist, chewy and decadent on the inside and all-around cookie perfection! The best part of this cookie recipe is that all of the cookies turn out exactly the same size, shape and texture. These freeze beautifully in a ziplock bag to extend the "life" of that fresh-baked cookie taste, and my whole family just loved them. Just a note: Don't ruin this great cookie by using stick margarine in place of the butter (that stick margarine stuff is so hydrogenated, it's one molecule away from a plastic! lol) - much, much better with the real thing. Can't wait to try other "chips" with this recipe in the future. Thanks for the great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
100% 5 stars! I swear this is the top line restaurant quality. Even after the cookie cools. The cookie is so soft and delicious. Rich in taste! All I have to say is Wow, the best cookie I have ever! ever!!!! tasted. I've been searching far and long for a recipe like this. Forever it will stay (Laminated) in my cookbook. TY!! SO MUCH! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Scrumptious. I added 1/2 cup peanut butter and cut down on the butter a bit, but otherwise made it the same. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is a soft, buttery, rich chocolate cookie that I found changes dramatically depending on how it goes into the oven. Soft, chewy, crispy, will all depend on how flat and how big the cookie dough balls are going in. I did the first batch straight from the scoop and they turned out thick and soft. A lot of people prefer their cookies this way so I can't downgrade them for that. The second batch I used the same amount of dough but flattened them slightly (as I always do and should have stuck with here too!) - a little chewier, not quite as thick, and much better, at least for my tastes. Peanut butter and chocolate fans who love soft cookies will love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Here's the thing--I made this recipe with my youngest boy and we lost a little flour in the process of measuring it and getting it to the mixer bowl, we lost a little egg during the egg-cracking process, and I'm not really sure if my son snuck in more sugar while I was getting my camera. With this said, even though I was sketchy about how this recipe might turn out with the little mistakes that were made, this recipe turned out a very nice cookie. Soft and fluffy and very nicely chocolate-y. (The raw batter was in-sane......but don't tell my kids that. Ha.) The best part is they did NOT stick to the pan AND I didn't need to chill the dough, which for me were excellent parts of this recipe. Next time, I'd like to try this with half of the butter replaced with peanut butter. I bet that would be really good. GREAT rainy day recipe to make with my son and bond. We had a BLAST and he was so proud of himself. NOTE: 350 for just about ten minutes was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Awesome cookies. My first recipe for chocolate cookies that didn't go flat and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
So good! I like this recipe a lot better than the Hershey's/Reese's recipe on this site. I baked them at about 7.5 minutes so they are soft and chewy. I used half whole-wheat pastry flour and Sunspire pb chips (no trans-fats). Also used 1/2 cup brown sugar and the rest white (next time I would probably reduce the sugar by about 1/4 cup). I got more than 2 dozen too, using my pampered chef scoop. These cookies taste great and look beautiful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I used to use the recipe on the back of the peanut butter chip bag to make these. They always taste great, but every time they would fall flat!!! These cookies don't. They taste great, and look great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I looved these. Infortunately, it was not unanimous, but I still think they deserve 5 stars. I followed the recipe exactly, and the dough is quite thick and stiff. For those who like thin chewy cookies that are not too dense, this is not the cookies for you. These cookies are really heavy, thick and dense, and that is what I like about them! They do not spread much. You can feel both the flavors of the peanut and the chocolate. People all have different tastes, so I did not rate it according to whether everyone loved it or not, just rated according to whether it is a good cookie that comes out the way it says it will...and it does! Loved it, kids and brothers loved it too! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This cookie is delicious with or without the peanut butter chips. I used margarine instead of butter and they came out perfect. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States