Peanut Butter Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by CathyW
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Sub Special-K cereal for the cornflakes and press it into a 9X13 pan and you have K-Bars! I just sprinkle the chips on top and put them into a warm oven for a few minutes (not too long or it will be as hard as a rock)just to melt the chips and then frost with a spreader. Be careful about overheating the corn syrup and sugar or your end result will be very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I just made this for Fallfest at my school. I needed a no-bake recipe and chose this one because it had the least ingredients and seemed easiest to make. I used pancake syrup instead of corn syrup because that's what I happened to have and it's mostly corn syrup anyway. The ingredients were easy to mix and prepare, I boiled the corn syrup for 30 seconds like the other reviewers suggested, that gives it a good consistency. The difficult part comes when you have to form the cookies, the mixture is extremely sticky and refuses to behave. I have no idea how those nice even balls (as seen in the photo) were made. The cookies taste like pure sugar, although they smell like peanut butter, you can't really taste it. It's a nice quick recipe if you need something for a school event, but if you know how to bake, I'd stick to that (at least I will). Hopefully the hungry college students will appreciate these more then I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I was looking for something easy to make to curb my sweet craving and this fit the bill. I added sprinkles just because I love sprinkles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I LOVED these when I was in school. I searched and searched for the recipe. This was SO good! I will be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I love it. It doesn't need the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
These are awesome. This is one of the bars (we put them in pans instead for easier serving) that we served recently at my daughters high school graduation open house. I never do these on the stove. I use the microwave. I put the syrup, sugar and butter in a glass bowl and when it is bubbling take it out and add the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I didn't really care for these. They seemed dry to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Made these with my daughter for a school party. We skipped the chips-Didnt want too much off a mess at school. The teachers LOVED them(kids too).Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berwick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I love these- I don't even bother with the chocolate. They are addictive. One of my favorite things to do is to mix up a batch, but instead of dropping them by the spoonful, I spread the whole batch evenly on top of a cooled pan of brownies. Cut them into bars- always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKMARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Wow these were so good and so easy! I didn't have corn syrup on hand so I did try it with maple syrup and I just patted them into a 9x13 pan. They turned out great! My hubby didn't like them that much so I took them work(so I wouldn't eat the whole pan!). They were gone in half an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States