Peanut Butter Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used brown sugar instead of white and oats, about 2 cups, instead of corn flakes. Also chopped about 1/2 cup dry roasted peanuts to get a slightly sweet/salty taste (you can use more but I used chunky instead of creamy peanut butter). Came out great and looked more like the ones I used to eat in school. Forget the chocolate and butterscotch, the ones I had in school didn't have it besides sweet enough as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is amazing! We used to LOVE getting these from the school cafeteria when I was in the 7th and 8th grade and I've been wondering how to make them lately, so I got online and voila! Thanks for sharing. Never would have guessed that's what was in them, and I thought cocoanut was in them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made these many times and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Whoa, these are really SWEET! I made 1/2 recipes and using a cookie scoop still got 30. I think I may have made them small though. They turned out and they were definitely chewy as suggested. The peanut butter caramel flavor is a good combination. The sugary taste was just overwhelming. I used peanut butter and cornflakes without sugar to. I guess it was to be expected though with both sugar and corn syrup. I will see how well they go over tommorrow in the work coffee room. It might just be personal preference on sweetness. I didn't do the optional chocolate drizzle either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Easier than I thought. Could I add chocolate chips into the mix? Used the Betty Crocker glaze instead of melting chips. Also made it gluten free by buying the right cereal. Eatten up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickedwoman
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Waaaaay BAD!! These are far too addictive to keep for yourself. We added chopped salted peanuts for extra crunch. Easy peasy to make and super fast - these will become a regular in our house..... even Roxy the dog likes the crumbs! Thank you Cindy x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wickedwoman
Home Town: Wicklow, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Perpignan, Languedoc-Roussillon, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
i did not like this recipe, it turned out very hard, will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These were good but really sugary sweet. The chocolate did not melt down to "drizzling" consistency...ever. We just spread it, then it didn't look great but oh well. Tasted pretty good but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Awesome! Used molasses instead or corn syrup since you can't buy it switzerland. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NISKU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States