Peanut Butter Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is a great and EASY recipe! Basic pantry ingredients!! DONE---in like 5 minutes--the hardest part is waiting for them to cool so you can enjoy them! (i've never put the chocolate finish on them) PANCAKE SYRUP(my preferrence) is an excellent substitute for the corn syrup, since it's essentially maple flavored corn syrup. It is the best no-bake cookies I have tried--but I had to shorten the boil time. I shortened the boil time to 30-35 seconds--if they get too hard, you boiled it too long. You can try most any cereal and I also suggest adding more cereal like others have said---but they are good really gooey too just as is! I am asked for this recipe repeatedly. Having your peanut butter measured and ready before you start is key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
My kids love these! These are also good made with Captain Crunch cereal. I've also tried Chex cereal and they turned out great. My kids like them best made with Rice Krispies. I ususally whatever cereal I have on hand. For those that had them turn out too hard, you just cooked them a little too long. I begin timing as soon as I see bubbles around the edges of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
A family favorite. I've made these 3 times in the last 2 weeks!!! They are so easy and so tasty. It's an easier alternative to Rice Krispie treats and they taste better too. I left off the chocolate, etc. Not needed. I made these as a girl when I was in 4-H and I'm thrilled to have the recipe again. Take my advice- don't let the corn syrup mixture boil too long. If you do, they get hard. I let it boil for about 30 seconds at the most. I measure the peanut butter before I turn on the stove, so that the corn syrup doesn't over boil. Make this recipe. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Instead of dropping these for cookies, spread and pat in a pan for bars! Then just spread the melted choc/butterscotch chips on top. Less hassle than dropping them on wax paper. I have been making these for years but my recipe calls for Special K cereal. This is a favorite around our house and gets raves wherever I take them! So yummy and Chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kentwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Wow!This recipe is truly delicious and so easy!it only took me 5 or 7 minutes to make it!I do agree on adding 5 Cups of(crushed) corn flakes instead of 4 1/2,they didn't stick at all and also only boil the corn syrup for not more then 35 seconds so they won't harden up.You may also sprinkle powdered sugar once they cool off a bit.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
I thought these cookies were great, but I didn't like the butterscotch and chocolate drizzle, it hid the peanut butter flavor. Next time I would only drizzle melted chocolate. ALso, only use about 1 Cup of chips total, I drizzled very well, and still had half a bowl left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
Yummy, yummy, yummy! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I only let the syrup boil for 1 minute, then added 5 CUPS cornflakes. I spread the entire mixture onto a cookie sheet (sprayed with Pam), and let cool. I drizzled the chocolate/butterscotch combo over the top, but my family and I decided that we did not like the flavor of the two. Next time I will only use chocolate. They were very easy to cut into squares once cool, soft and chewy. Awesome alternative to Rice Krispie Squares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I sell a lot of these. Thanks for a great recipe! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Quick and easy. The best thing I can say about this recipe is that it is still good days after making, they also took care of my sweet cravings very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This recipe is wonderful! It was very easy to make and everone loved them. They were very chewy. The people who had hard chews, probably over cooked the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States