Peanut Butter Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made two batches of this recipe. In both I used 1 cup of peanut butter. Thinking that would make it taste more peanut buttery. I tried adding m&ms to both batches as one reviewer mentioned. It didn't work at all. When you try to mix in the m&ms they get crushed. I know that doesn't affect the taste at all, but it does affect how they look. They end up looking bad. The second batch I made, I thought of crushing the corn flakes, thinking that would make it easier to mix in the m&ms. I even used my hands, as opposed to the spoon I used the first time, to mix them in the second time around. That didn't change anything. Plus the m&ms don't stay mixed in very well. They have a tendency to fall out more than stay in. Outside of that, it's just average. Even with the additional half cup of peanut butter, it's still not very peanut buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I've made this recipe for years. The trick is to gently boil the sugar and Karo first. Then remove from heat and melt in the pb then add the cornflakes. It makes for a much smoother consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya Person
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I was given a big bag of cornflakes and needed a quick and easy treat for the kids to take to their Christmas party. This recipe was perfect! I dropped them by spoonful but next time I might press them into bars so maybe they would hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Person

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Erd, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I have made this for years, since it first was added to Allrecipes. My little kids, (now in their 20's) keep requesting it. Two live in their own apts, but this is a yummy, comfort & memorable treat, not to mention the easiest treat you'll ever make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I add teaspoon of vanilla extract. I boil the syrup and sugar briefly, pull off of the heat, and then add the peanut butter which I nuked to make it pour out of the jar. They come out softer by doing this. Store in an air tight container along with a piece of fresh bread to keep them soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Unks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Tried this last night... I added about 2 tbs of Nutella and pressed it in a 9x13 pan. It was quite yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I crave a chewy, nutty bar - this is a great idea builder but a bit sweet- even with these adjustments... 1 cup all natural peanut butter, 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 coconut palm sugar, peanuts (unsalted). A of a sugar buzz after but it has a nice chew factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I make these for each FFA trip I go on. My chapter members love them! I skipped them once and everyone was really disappointed. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Suder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mercersburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years and everyone still goes crazy over these delicious treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe.list

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy M.
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These were so easy to make. The only problem I had with this recipe was that I had to increase the cereal by 3/4 cup, but other than that, it was great. As other reviewers have mentioned, do not let the peanut butter mixture boil too long or you'll end up with bricks. I removed mine from heat as soon as small bubbles started appearing. To roll them, I first dropped the mixture by spoonfuls onto some parchment paper, then once they were cool enough to handle, I rolled them into balls. I also tried increasing the peanut butter to 1 cup and used 6 cups cereal, leaving everything else the same, but I couldn't roll it into balls and it just fell apart, but that's probably my fault for using too much cereal. I liked it both ways and I cant decide which one I like more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States