Peanut Butter Chews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tanya Person
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I was given a big bag of cornflakes and needed a quick and easy treat for the kids to take to their Christmas party. This recipe was perfect! I dropped them by spoonful but next time I might press them into bars so maybe they would hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Person

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Erd, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I have made this for years, since it first was added to Allrecipes. My little kids, (now in their 20's) keep requesting it. Two live in their own apts, but this is a yummy, comfort & memorable treat, not to mention the easiest treat you'll ever make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I add teaspoon of vanilla extract. I boil the syrup and sugar briefly, pull off of the heat, and then add the peanut butter which I nuked to make it pour out of the jar. They come out softer by doing this. Store in an air tight container along with a piece of fresh bread to keep them soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Unks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Tried this last night... I added about 2 tbs of Nutella and pressed it in a 9x13 pan. It was quite yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I crave a chewy, nutty bar - this is a great idea builder but a bit sweet- even with these adjustments... 1 cup all natural peanut butter, 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 coconut palm sugar, peanuts (unsalted). A of a sugar buzz after but it has a nice chew factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I make these for each FFA trip I go on. My chapter members love them! I skipped them once and everyone was really disappointed. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Suder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mercersburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years and everyone still goes crazy over these delicious treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe.list

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy M.
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These were so easy to make. The only problem I had with this recipe was that I had to increase the cereal by 3/4 cup, but other than that, it was great. As other reviewers have mentioned, do not let the peanut butter mixture boil too long or you'll end up with bricks. I removed mine from heat as soon as small bubbles started appearing. To roll them, I first dropped the mixture by spoonfuls onto some parchment paper, then once they were cool enough to handle, I rolled them into balls. I also tried increasing the peanut butter to 1 cup and used 6 cups cereal, leaving everything else the same, but I couldn't roll it into balls and it just fell apart, but that's probably my fault for using too much cereal. I liked it both ways and I cant decide which one I like more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I love these and so do my kids--so easy to make and the taste is amazing. I did use creamy and crunchy peanut butter and I think adding the crunchy one makes these taste similar to peanut brittle. (I do prefer these better w/ crunchy peanut butter) I made these last night and they were gone fast! Will make often, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This recipe has been around forever - I remember my great-grandmother making them for family holidays but this recipe here is by far the best I've found. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States