Peanut Butter Candy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
While I did not use the chocolate icing given in the recipe (I had no chocolate chips in the pantry, so I used a Texas sheet cake frosting recipe instead), I must rate it a 5 given the simplicity of the dessert and the flexibility of the recipe. If I didn't have enough graham crackers, I crushed up Frosted Flakes. I made this 3 times in one weekend for friends and had no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Boy I really don't like to give a negative review, but....this recipe had no flavor. I used exactly what was called for. The peanut butter and chocolate just didn't have any taste. I was expecting a strong pb and chocolate flavor and it was just bland. Very dissappointed after all the great reviews. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I have made a similar recipe each Christmas for years, but hated the way the frosting broke when cutting the bars. This frosting recipe worked out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Usually I make a new recipe once or twice. Not this one - I have made it and have been requested to make it over a dozen times! I recommend using natural peanut butter - the coarser consistency makes the peanut butter part more like a peanut butter cup - YUM!!!!!! Also, I only put in about 3 to 3.5 cups of sugar - it is just as sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Ohrum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
I had the same problem with not having enough choc. mixture for the top. I used an 11 x 13 glass dish, and the peanut butter part was really thick! I just doubled the choc. mixture, and it was perfect! I used one cup marg. instead of one and a half, and real chocolate chips. (The other half cup went into the extra choc. mix anyway!) I took it to a family potluck, and everybody loved it! This is a five star recipe with these modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
These are my favorite bars. I bring them to any holiday party I'm going to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This was yummy, I halved the ingredients and still had a big trayful. As I live in the U.K I could not find grahamn crackers in my local supermarket and weren't really sure what they are, so I used digestive biscuits instead. I was v. impressed with how quick they are to prepare, I completed making the bars in about half hour which included shopping for ingredients. I will definatly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ME100FINN
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
YUM YUM YUM!!! I made a huge 9x13 pan of this and ate almost all of it myself. UGH! I would cut the recipe in half next time for sure. AWESOME -- thanks for giving me my fix on pb&chocolate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Made these bars for Christmas this year and they are so easy and quick to do . My husband and I just love them. Took a tray of goodies to my former co-workers and they all wanted this recipe. They woofed these bars down before anything else on the tray. They are nurses and love goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Super easy.. fast too. I used a 9x13 pan.. used 1/2c less margerine than called for.. I bet you could use even less. I would have preffered more chocolate on top.. I thought they were extremely sweet.. but everyone in the office gobbled them up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States