Peanut Butter Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Haven't had these since childhood! This is really close to the recipe the was in our weekly reader in the early 70's! The only difference is mix in 1/2 cup raisins, then roll balls in flaked coconut. Yummy Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is very close to what my mother made for me as a child. She'd melt butter and mix with powder sugar to make a dough. Then she'd kinda mash/roll it out and spread peanut butter on it and roll it up like a log. Then she'd slice, refrigerate and YUMMY candy is eaten! I will definitely try this recipe, as it is similar but maybe not quite as messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim6980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
They were good, but extremely messy to make with my 12 and 3 year old girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
These have a good flavor and are a bit chewy. They are tastier than the peanut butter balls with just milk powder and honey, which I do not like. I had to come back today and change my rating from a 3 to a 4 because after sitting in the fridge all night, I kept going back to get another one. They are a bit oily on your fingers and don't keep their round ball shape and really stick to the plate, so not the best for taking somewhere or gift giving. But I will make again for a quick snack when I need something sweet/chewy. I want to use crunchy peanut butter or add nuts next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
My Dad made this when we were kids and later when my grandchildren were old enough to help he started to make it again. He passed away last year and this really brings him back... easy to make, I roll the balls in powdered sugar or cocoa for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Rucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorefield, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Super easy candy, does not keep really well however :( Made a bunch of it for Christmas presents and everyone loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandycooky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shingletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I found this recipe last night and had to make it. When I was a little kid, we often had "peanut butter playdough" at snack time and it was one of my favorites. This recipe is just like it! I enjoyed mixing it up and it tastes quite yummy. I didn't have much corn syrup and had to use half honey, which lended a very nice flavor. I might try rolling them in little M&Ms next time. Thank you for a quick, easy and yummy candy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I am going to make these like little pumpkins (adding orange paste color), imprint some grooves on the outside and put a chocolate chip on top for a stem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is a fine, easy candy. I like it when I need to make something quickly but don't have time to go to the grocery (these are cupboard staples for me) or make it. Additions I've made include using crunch peanut butter, rolling or mixing in mini M&Ms, rolling in chopped milk and/or white chocolate chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This was easy and fast. Made a bunch of candies. I followed the recipe exactly. Keep these cold as they get too soft at room temperature. I make the criss cross marks on the top like Peanut Butter Cookies (with a fork)and it also smushes them down. YUM!!!! They don't last long around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Utokia’s Tips for Chocolate Peanut Butter Candy

See a Real Mom share tips for making sweet treats for parties and events.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States