Peanut Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Although the peanut butter taste was exceptional, the cake was not ... way too dry. If I were to try it again I would try adding salad oil or yogurt to give it some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
1 cup of milk to 1 lb confectionery sugar is too much. Use about 1/4 cup of milk to get a creamy spreadable frosting. Mix peanut butter with confectionery sugar than add as much milk to make creamy instead of alternating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly. The cake was extremely dense, thick and somewhat dry tasting. It was tolerable but I would not make it again. My whole family loves peanut butter so I assumed this would be a real winner but it was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Delicious cake-- although I recommend using margarine instead of butter or fewer eggs as the cake was very heavy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is a pound cake recipe. There is too much flour in the batter, which causes the center to thicken up much more than a cake should be. Flavor is good, but take out at least a 1/4 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth Golding
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Hi all, I made this cake this morning, in fact I actually made two of them...one a double layer and the other, a bundt cake. The cake tastes really good and the frosting is to die for. For the middle layer on each I took some regular store vanilla frosting and mixed it with grape jelly so I ended up with a peanut butter and jelly cake. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Golding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wrangell, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Delicious!!!!! Everyone who has tried it ,loved it.I used the icing recipe off of peanutbutter cake 2 .worked really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Not a good taste in the cake and you can not use one cup of milk to it, I could have drank my icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Was my first time having a peanut butter cake...I loved it! I did make some changes though. To the actual recipe, the icing doesn't need near as much milk. I ended up using way too much powdered sugar to get it back to not being liquid. Also, I did two layers instead of one big cake. Was very pretty! Something I added...Reese cups! I also used Reese's peanut butter. It was soooo good! I crumbled the Reese cups on the first and second layer. I liked the icing a little runny because I let the icing run down the sides and harden. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Just wonderful!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States