Peanut Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Although the peanut butter taste was exceptional, the cake was not ... way too dry. If I were to try it again I would try adding salad oil or yogurt to give it some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This cake was terrific! I found it very rich with excellent peanut taste. The frosting turned out more like a glaze, but that was OK, since the cake was so substantial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This was the absolute best peanut butter cake I have ever made!! It was positively delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
The cake was quite good - perfect 'ribbons falling from beaters' batter, nice and dense and chewy and cakey...and it tasted of peanut butter, though not extremely. It does not taste like it has 6 eggs in it imo, not too rich. The frosting was not worth it; runny and took forever to set and was, like an earlier reviewer said, more like a glaze. (I started with 2 cups of icing sugar - 16 oz - which may have been wrong, not sure if Sherry meant fluid or solid ounces. As is I put about 3 cups in total and it was still not enough.) Peanuts on top were a great touch - just use the Peanut Butter Frosting recipe, on this site, for a much better topping and you'll have a stellar cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I found this cake to be pretty heavy...6 eggs seems like a bit much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Just wonderful!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Delicious!!!!! Everyone who has tried it ,loved it.I used the icing recipe off of peanutbutter cake 2 .worked really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
It just didn't taste right and the texture was quiet dry. I really have no idea how to improve the recipe but I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELLEN666
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Nice and tastey cake my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Delicious cake-- although I recommend using margarine instead of butter or fewer eggs as the cake was very heavy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States