Peanut Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I had this recipe bookmarked from a time when I cut the recipe in half and used it in a chocolate and peanut butter marble cake. I decided to use it again today for a friend's birthday for cupcakes and without the additional cake mix and used 4 jumbo eggs rather than 6 eggs. The flavor is there but the cake is lacking in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Use Margarine, not butter for a more moist cake. If you slice the top layers off the cakes & glaze the top with caramel simple syrup (Just bring equal parts brown sugar & water to a light boil) it will be moist. This is true of many cakes you layer. Any flavor can be used (chocolate, vanilla,...) if you use white sugar instead of brown. Also freeze cakes before cutting tops off, then after glazing topless cakes, refrigerate wrapped cakes in plastic wrap. Also, 1 part ea of oil, butter & flour worked best, blended, as the nonstick coating, then dust pan with sifted flour. came out perfect. Mine was a layered ice cream cake (Recee), so I did not alter the frosting milk part, but DO, it is runny! Start with 1/4 cup milk for frosting added slowly & see. I also used cake flour for a lighter cake, needed 2 T more cake flour. Much lower gluten & HEALTHIER. This cake doubles as a good energy dessert, great for whole family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jade66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Turned out delicious! Did have to bake longer than specified. Also, I used store bought frosting instead of the homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sayre, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great cake! I just have to remember to adjust for high altitude, but it was moist and very tasty. I just poured chocolate ganache over it instead of using the frosting recipe...family and friends all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth Golding
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Hi all, I made this cake this morning, in fact I actually made two of them...one a double layer and the other, a bundt cake. The cake tastes really good and the frosting is to die for. For the middle layer on each I took some regular store vanilla frosting and mixed it with grape jelly so I ended up with a peanut butter and jelly cake. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Golding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wrangell, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I thought something might have been wrong with the baking powder in the recipe until I read some other reviews. The cake had good flavor but was too heavy and a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is a pound cake recipe. There is too much flour in the batter, which causes the center to thicken up much more than a cake should be. Flavor is good, but take out at least a 1/4 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Not a good taste in the cake and you can not use one cup of milk to it, I could have drank my icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Fantastic! I used chocolate icing and the cake tasted like Reese's. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahsue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Love it but sometimes the cake comes out dry. After trying several PB cake recipes, I think this is just a hazard of PB cakes. Then again, I am not a great baker. Still love the flavor! My family could simply eat spoonfuls of the frosting without cake. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnieMN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States