Peanut Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
When I looked at the reviews for this recipe, I ALMOST didn't make it based on the critical one star review. I am SO glad I didn't allow that to keep me from this cake...it has a bold peanut butter flavor and is dense and moist..it has become one of my most requested recipes...honestly, it's a cake..not health food..so yep..that does mean fat will be there..if I wanted wheat germ & oatmeal, I wouldn't be making a cake...just sayin... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MLK
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Oh my gosh! This was heaven! I used chocolate cake instead of the butter cake, it was just like a Reese's peanut butter cup! Wonderful!!! Asides from using chocolate cake I didn't change a thing. I decorated it with peanut butter cups and chocolate sauce. It was pretty and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Was looking for a quick cake to make for my sister's birthday who is a peanut butter fanatic and I didn't have time to go to the store. This got rave reviews and I'm told it was perfectly rich with a glass of milk. I made a 2 layer cake and topped with the peanut butter frosting along with chocolate ganache and peanut butter cups. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Disappointment! The flavor was okay, but I couldn't get over the severe dryness of the cake. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. I will not make this cake again. On a good note, the frosting was really good. Nice texture. Smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this cake for my dads birthday, and it was AMAZING! I didn't use a box cake mix because I don't like to use boxed mix for anything. So, I used a butter cake recipe and I put in a cup of better instead of 1/2 a cup. I also put a layer of chocolate fudge in between the cake layers because I love chocolate and peanut butter together! Lastly, I left the cake in the oven for much longer then it calls for because it seemed a bit doughy. The final result; melt in your mouth peanut buttery goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Dad's favorite dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey Bales

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Manitou Beach, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
WOW!!! That's what i think of this cake. I love peanut butter and i think the taste was wonderful. Very easy recipe. Made for Thanksgiving and who don't like peanut butter, cake was a hit. Thanks for a great recipe Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This cake is sooooooooo good. I though it would be too sweet for me, not! A friend of mine made it into a six layer, it is so pretty. Guy's it's a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jamestown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Tasty, i used chocolate ganuche and cut it into the shape of a reeses with a bite cut out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I have made this cake a few times now and it gets rave reviews every time. I did up the peanut butter in the batter to one cup. Even the frosting is delicious. Use can use any flavour of cake mix and it is still so so good. This recipe will definitely stay on the top of my best cake list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States