Peanut Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
My husband loved this cake and wants me to make it for his birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
WOW!! This was so good. I threw some chocolate morsels on top while it baked. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I too drizzled melted chocolate on top of the icing. This is a keeper thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I have baked this cake many times with this recipe and it is simply the best peanut butter cake I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
My boyfriend asked me for a peanut butter cake, of which I had never heard of. So in my search to find a recipe, I came across this one, and he absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrdthbtlr
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I've made this cake twice now. 1st time it came out INCREDIBLE- made it for a chef and his restaurant staff and they are still RAVING about it. I made a couple of minor modifications that I feel were key to its success: 1-Instead of 2/3 c water in the cake batter, I used 1/3 water and 1/3 whipping cream. 2-I felt the frosting as directed was much too heavy on confectioners sugar, so I added more of equal parts peanut butter and butter fluffed together until I simply liked the flavor and consistency- but ended up with extra frosting! I'd say taste the frosting after you've added the 3rd cup of powdered sugar- that's when I liked it best! Add the 4th cup slowly and taste as you go! 2nd time I made it, it came out terrible... :( Dry and way too sweet with less peanutty richness. Here's where I think I went wrong... I didn't do my modifications the 2nd time around :/ AND I used a plain yellow cake mix since the grocery store didn't have the butter one-BIG MISTAKE. Clearly the Butter Recipe with pudding in the mix is SUPER KEY to this recipe!!! I accidentally dumped all four cups of powder sugar in the frosting... Then I didn't have my more peanut butter to balance it back out... A total disaster. The difference is shocking... SO! To recap. Sub 1/3 whipping cream for part of the water in the batter, ONLY USE BUTTER RECIPE CAKE MIX WITH PUDDING IN THE MIX, and reduce icing sugar in frosting OR increase combined peanut butter & butter until the nutty flavor and sweetness are b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as stated, except after making the peanut butter frosting,I added 1 cup chocolate frosting to it. This cake was a big hit. Everybody loved it. Didn't want to give out the recipe, wanted them to think it was my own invention, but I ended up sharing the recipe. Will be sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I liked it, healthy and everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Made this for my son and it was so good my husband had to have one. Do not change anything on this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this again for something different in the Thanksgiving dessert table. It was a big hit that went well with coffee without being too sweet. The kids really like it for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoNut
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Even though the peanut taste wasn't really strong, (i guess i put too much water :O) , the peanut frosting was a relish. Creamy, peanut-ish, tasty. I also used my own white cake mix recipe that i got from allrecipe.com, and that made the texture of the cake really soft and fluffy, which contributed to the success of this peanut :) I suggest putting less water, or 1 egg less (if ur using ur own cake recipe) cause i guess this recipe included the eggs needed for the cake mix already, so there isnt any more need to add additional eggs required in the cake mix. Overall, i would give a 4 for it was a success (My aunt, whos a picky eater, loves it too. My brother went ''NICEEEEE'' on the first bite, and my grandma did not criticised me for my cake this time). The missing 1 comes in for improvement to be made in the appearance :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States