Peanut Butter Bon-Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was good but a little too sweet. There also wasnt enough chocolate to cover all of them. Thanks! Real easy to make and pretty good so its worth it if you get extra chocolate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
These taste terrific, but were somewhat disappointing. There are a few problems with the recipe. 1. I had to use 16 ounces semi-sweet chocolate (more than double!) to cover all the balls, and they weren't even covered all the way. 2. I couldn't dip them in the chocolate as the recipe states; I had to drizzle the chocolate over the balls, covering the sides, but not the bottom. When I tried to dip the balls, they fell apart in the chocolate. 3. The peanut butter/rice crispy balls had to chill for at least an hour to get hard enough to work with, then after covering them with chocolate, there is more chilling time, so I don't know where the "30 minute" ready-time is coming from. They came out tasting really yummy, but if I hadn't had extra chocolate, and extra time, it would have been a disaster. Plus, I'm not even sure if they can qualify as "bon bons" if they're not completely covered, and it sure changes the look of them. I followed the recipe exactly, using smooth peanut butter, real butter, and all other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These were excellent and yielded a lot of Bon-bons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Made these in home ec class about 30 years ago. I am so glad I found this recipe again because they are sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
GReat recipe but needs more chocolate to cover all the bon bons that are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These taste pretty great. That being said, I made the biggest mess ever making them & I used 10 squares of chocolate & still had nowhere near enough to cover them all. That was ok though, because they are honestly very rich when completely covered w/chocolate & I personally found them just as tasty if not more so without it. A plus was that my 3-yr-old could help by sticking the toothpicks for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious and easy! I made mine a bit big though...it didn't seem that way until after dipping them in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I found this recipe easy to follow but my first attempt didn't turn out. My 2nd however was much better. I changed a few things my second go around. 1st i didn't even bother measuring the peanut butter i just used 1 small jar to a stick and a half of butter. Melt slowly or you will burn it. 4 cups of sugar is alot i only used about 2 cups and i cut the rice crispies down to to about 2 1/2 cups. All in all tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I prefer these without the rice krispies. They taste more like a Reese's peanut butter cup. Mmmm.... I make these every Christmas, and they're always the first to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
To make uniform bon-bons press the peanut rice-krispie into small ice cube trays with silicone bottoms. The bon-bons will pop out nicely after a short refrigeration. If you 1/2 the recipe the amount is a lot more managable to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Petersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States