Peanut Butter Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Fabulous !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I use this recipe for peanut butter and jelly cheese cake. good lord is it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made the recipe EXACTLY as instructed -- no substitutions, no reductions or increases in ingredients. You know, the way you're supposed to if you're going to review a recipe. :) After doing so, I have three tips: 1. I found the texture of the bottom peanut butter layer in the finished bars to be somewhat "grainy," for lack of a better term, and I processed my graham crackers VERY fine. I suggest mixing them with the melted butter and then letting them sit until they have gotten completely mushy before you add the peanut butter. 2. About prepping the pan and cutting them: I lined my pan with that nonstick liner that's parchment on one side and foil on the other side, with the foil side down. (No pan cleanup makes this a real bonus.) After refrigerating the bars overnight, I turned the full brick out CHOCOLATE SIDE DOWN -- very easy if you use the liner -- onto a piece of waxed paper and let them sit for 15 minutes so they got soft enough to cut. I used a pizza cutter, but whatever works for you. Using this method I had very little cracking of the chocolate layer, and they're quite attractive. 3. Store them in the fridge unless you like this sort of thing gooey or unless you keep your house VERY cool. The butter in the PB layer makes them good, but it doesn't hold up well at room temperature. I layered mine with waxed paper in a Tupperware container and they are holding together quite nicely. This is an easy and delicious treat. The instructions just need some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
It was fantastic! My entire family said it was better than Reese's, and we are still eating it for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I really like this recipe, its simple, quick and yummo. i refrigerated the crust part for about 30 min and used a whole bag of chips rather than the 1 1/2 cups which resulted in a thicker layer on top. also i used chunky peanut butter cuz it was what i had on hand, i think actually they turned out better than they would have if i had used smooth because there's now chunks of peanuts in the bars and in the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I made some..and I didn't even get one. They were all gone within an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I must confess I was tempted to give this recipe 2 stars...I hate it when this happens--everyone loves it but me. I just don't get it---why not just buy a peanut butter cup? Yes, it's a slightly different texture because of the graham...but still...If I'm going to cook, I want it to taste original. That didn't happen here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is exactly the same recipe that my mom started making in the 19790's. I think that she found it on the back of a graham cracker box. This recipes is a love it or leave it kind of candy. My youngest brother loves it, my kids not so much. I do make this quite often. It's on of those recipes that you can make with your eyes closed. It makes a great addition to cookie gift boxes just because it is so easy. The only that I add is 3/4 teaspoon if vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy Lessard
Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made a half batch in a 9x9 pan. I didn't have the semi-sweet chocolate chips on hand so I used Hershey kisses instead. Everybody LOVED them. The recipe is super easy and the results taste almost like fudge but not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States